When Small Things Add Up in Our Life

small-thingsEverything will add up in our life–whether the small blessings, or the many little grievances. Karlton shares.

“Who dares despise the day of small things, since the seven eyes of the Lord that range throughout the earth will rejoice when they see the chosen capstone in the hand of Zerubbabel?” (Zechariah 4:10).

I haven’t given much thought to small change–those quarters and nickels, dimes and pennies. I just toss my pocket change into a plastic jug beside my bed. But I recently got curious about how much change was in that jug, so I took it to a Coinstar machine to cash it in. I was surprised when it added up to a considerable amount of money.

Lots of little things in our lives can add up to much bigger things, both good and bad.

Continued bickering can add up to serious marriage issues. Endless griping and complaining can lead to discouragement.

Contrariwise, freely handing out compliments can encourage others and strengthen relationships. Finding the glass half full instead of half empty can lead to a positive outlook on life.

Those who are chronically ill have often discovered that small things can add up to good or bad outcomes. Too many health issues flaring at once can add up to serious challenges for us. Too much negativity can quickly pull us down, weakening us further. Yet when one or more of our ailments improve, or when something positive enters our lives, it can drastically improve our situation.

I don’t want to overlook the small things in life, whether good or bad. I don’t want to take the small blessings for granted, and I don’t want continued complaining and griping to add up and turn me sour or bitter.

No longer do I take pocket change for granted. I know what it can add up to. Neither do I want to take any blessings for granted, for they can add up to a very blessed life.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank You for the large and small blessings in life. Help us to appreciate every blessing. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. His desire is to live a grateful life where nothing is taken for granted.

Do you take the little things in life for granted? Why not try to see the small things with new eyes, and consider what they add up to.

It is so easy to have the best of intentions in how we live our life or raise our families up, and yet it is really about the little day-to-day things that make a world of difference. This song is “This is Your Life” with Switchfoot. It has some great lyrics I think will touch you. I know it is hard to make those small changes in life, but it is so worth it. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

