Does God Want Both, Rather Than Choosing?

thinkingCan you consider that God may allow you to be ill–and heal you–without getting too stuck on either one? Kerryn shares.

“’Am I only a God nearby,’ declares the Lord, ‘and not a God far away? Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them?’ declares the Lord. ‘Do not I fill heaven and earth?’ declares the Lord” (Jeremiah 23:23-24).

It’s easy to limit God to our earthly thinking! Yet God is so much bigger than we can fathom.

We normally have what is called “either/or-thinking.” This thinking brings me to choices of one thing or another. We choose this or that on a daily basis, which is more finite.

However this verse blows that thinking apart! God is so much bigger than that.

What if God helps us with “and/both thinking?” Thinking differently like this takes us into a realm that’s way bigger and very freeing.

Jeremiah reminds us that God is “nearby . . . and far away.” He fills “heaven . . . and earth.”

Recently I’ve been reminded about how this plays out in illnesses.

If I believe that God is allowing the illnesses and have “either/or-thinking,” then I believe that it’s either illness. . . . or healing.

So, I accept that I’m ill and I don’t seek God for healing. I won’t even allow thoughts of that.

Or I believe that I’m to be healed and seek after that so much that I don’t live in the moment. I miss what I can enjoy now, with God, and the lessons that He preciously gives me for my benefit and growth.

An amazing revelation occurred when I realized that God isn’t that finite!

What if I can be ill and. . .

live in the moment and . . .
learn the lessons I need to learn to grow and. . .
still believe God can heal me and . . .
be open to that?

Once I realized this, it has opened me up to so very many more lessons from God about moving from “either/or-thinking” to “both/and-thinking.”

God is all about freedom, making our yoke easy and our burden light.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me to have my thinking transformed by the renewing of my mind. Help me to see the situations where I’m confining You by my finite thinking. Show me those times when I need “and/both thinking.” Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

In what areas of your life would “both/and-thinking” help you?

So often we try to live according to our thoughts, our scales, our expectations. Over and over again we must do as this song suggests and lay down our life to God, resting in the fact that He has it all in His power and will take care of us. Shawn McDonald sings “All I Need” in this song. I think you will like the lyrics. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Does God Want Both, Rather Than Choosing?

  1. Kerryn, this hit me in a really personal way today. In a wonderful way. You have the most interesting perspectives to share and I love it. Praying for you, today and always. Love you, sweet friend! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • I’m really thanking God for His special revelations to you about this Shelly! 🙂 God is amazing!
      Thanks for your encouragement too. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Kerryn,
    Thanks for this reminder that we can limit God and limit our learning, when we are not open to the fact that God sees such a bigger picture than we do.
    It was interesting to see my “related” – Guess Who Moved, devotional that I wrote on this same verse come up and to be reminded of what God brought me from that verse too.
    Praying for you 🙂
    Blessings, Fiona

    • Thanks Fiona. 🙂

      Very cool when the same verse brings such a variety of messages to God’s children…. and each is special & tailor made to bless us. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

