Is God Calling You to Take Action?

actionWhen God calls you to action, what kind of excuses do you tend to make? Diane asks.

“Alas Sovereign Lord, ‘I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” But the Lord said to me, “do not say, ‘I am too young. You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you declares The Lord”‘” (Jeremiah 1:6-9).

When God calls you do you ever respond like Jeremiah, with excuses as to why you can’t do it?

“But God, I really don’t feel well today, couldn’t I do it tomorrow?

I am just too old/young for that now. . .

How can I help others when I can’t even leave my house?

I’m not wise enough, or familiar with all the bible verses.

Sound familiar?

Well, the good news is that God has an answer for all of that; it’s just to obey, believing that the God who created the entire universe has enough power, strength, and wisdom, to help you in this task–little or big–that He has assigned to you.

So, what is our assignment?

1.”You must go.”
Remember in this day of technology we can “go” via the computer, our phones, or in person. FYI: timing is everything, Don’t delay!

2. “Say whatever I command you.”
Don’t worry. God will provide the words when it’s time.

3. “Don’t be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you.”
Don’t be afraid or intimidated to share what God has given you. It is not your job to receive, it’s only to be the messenger.

Think of it as a precious gift that He has honored you to give to that individual or group. He will give you courage, and even rescue you if necessary! There is no need to run away, He has already scared away those Goliaths and Philistines.

All this, my friends, is to say, just recognize and take joy in the fact that although we may deal with illness, physical or mobility restrictions, or just plain fear–when God calls, He will provide everything needed for the task! If we just obey.

Prayer: Father, we thank You for the privilege that You give us to share and to be a messenger of the hope that You give to all who believe in You. I pray, Lord, that when You call we will always choose to obey, believing in Your faithfulness to provide the courage, wisdom and strength to do whatever You have asked. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata, lives in Central Florida, she is blessed to have three grown children, and a wonderful husband, who is also her caregiver in illness. She is a cancer survivor, but continues to deal with many digestive and neuropathic issues. She loves art and writing. Her desire is to continually be an encouragement to others; looking daily for those “God opportunities” to share His love and truth with others.

When you are struggling to obey what do you do or pray to get back to God?

Brooke Fraser sings this song called “Hymn”. It shares how we hope that God will follow us if we flee from Him. We don’t ever plan to run, but sometimes life gets so difficult, we tend to start believing that we can create just as good as a life as we flee from God than when we turn to Him. When nothing seems to be going our way, and we are fully dependent on Him, Satan loves to show us how God is not meeting our needs. However, this is not truth. Hoping this song blesses you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

