Are There Really Positives In Pain?

PAINWhat do we gain by pain if we take an honest look at how God can use it? Kerryn explains.

Note from Lisa: Kerryn wrote this last month and is having her surgery today on the 11th. Please keep her in your prayers as she undergoes the procedure and recovers. Thank you.

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it” (Hebrews 12:11).

There are some verses in scripture that I simply don’t like! It’s easy to skim over them and go to the comforting and encouraging verses. Yet it’s often those difficult verses that will bring pain first and then incredible blessing, with the change in my heart and life.

This verse from Hebrews is one of them. As I read it, I noticed myself skimming over the first sentence to get to the second one!

We all want comfort and encouragement. Obviously none of us would want to have someone inflict anything painful on us, right?

Well, I’m starting to question that right now, as my current health situation has me reflecting upon the positives of pain. I’m needing and even wanting an operation right now!

What?

Yes, I’m wanting a surgeon to cut me open, cause pain, inflict wounds and take out the part of my body that is growing unhealthily inside me.

Why?

Ultimately, as my body heals it will be healthier, have more energy and less pain. What is festering inside me will be gone.

Isn’t that what God wants for us too?

He wants to remove anything that is festering inside us, making us unhealthy, taking away our energy and causing problems.

It’s simple and obvious, yet I tend to avoid it.

Yes, it may be painful to open up something that God needs to deal with in my life, heart, mind or soul. Yet, afterwards it “produces a harvest of righteousness and peace.” I’m asking God what He may want to change in me, even if it’s painful before the peace.

Will you join me?

Prayer: Lord, I know I’ve been avoiding You on some things You’re wanting to deal with in my life. Help me to come to You honestly, trusting that the painful part ultimately brings about righteousness and peace that You want for me. Thank You for loving me. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

When God shows you something He wants to change in you, what do you do?

I love the lyrics in this song by Relient K, “For the Moments I Feel Faint.” It sings of never underestimating my Jesus. Yes, pain is awful, isn’t it? It zaps strength, hope, perspective, but God is so much mightier than anything that can attack our bodies. Never underestimate Jesus! God bless. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Are There Really Positives In Pain?

  1. Kerryn, I have my tutu on in prayer for you, dear Sister! Thank you for this perfect devotional today. I needed just these words. Love you. Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

  2. Amen to Shelly’s comment knowing you will find these, Kerryn, once home and healing up. As I leave my words here, we have received word from Fiona that you are out of surgery and on the way to the healing you mention here – the physical healing.

    Continuing prayers and many thanks for reminding us all that we must face the deeper pain in order for healing to come and not to fear facing the unpleasantness of pain for God is at work to bring about a better good – His good.

    Much Love,
    Lynn

    • Thanks dear Lynn. Yes, the road to recovery is not something fun either, but necessary for the best results. Soooo many lessons this past year in this journey. Thanks for your encouragement. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

