Road Trips on Earth and Those to Our Heavenly Home

road-tripRoad trips here on earth can have many challenges, but Vicki shares about a road trip far beyond our imaginations.

“And I have promised to bring you up out of your misery in Egypt into the land of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites–a land flowing with milk and honey” (Exodus 3:17).

“I can’t go with you on the field trip. A substitute will take my place,” I informed my second graders.

You would’ve thought I’d told them the trip had been cancelled. They stared at me with disbelieving expressions.

“No!!! You have to go with us,” one student cried out.

“You don’t need me to go.”

“Yes we do. Who will lead the songs on the bus?” protested another student.

I relented and found a way to join them.

On the bus we bounced along, singing all the way. The bumps and bus smell didn’t bother my students. They eagerly anticipated our destination.

Adults love trips too. Summer means vacation.

But not for many people with chronic illness. . .

Countless reasons prevent us from traveling: finances, logistics, heat, and symptoms.

As believers, we are on a journey. Our reservations are made in the Lamb’s Book of Life. Christ promised, “My Father’s house has many rooms. . . I am going there to prepare a place for you” (John 14:2).

Like the heroes of Hebrews we know we’re just passing through, “. . . foreigners and strangers on earth” (Hebrews 11:13).

Living with MS can feel like riding through life in an old jalopy. Getting rattled by every pot hole. Bruised by every bump in the road. Singing “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” reminds me “life is but a dream.”

Heaven is real. Isaiah tells us, “A highway shall be there . . . it shall be called the Highway of Holiness . . . the redeemed shall walk there . . . .with singing, with everlasting joy on their heads. They shall obtain joy and gladness, and sorrow and sighing shall flee away” (Isaiah 35:8-10, NKJV).

“Our joyful hopes and prospects of eternal life should swallow up all the sorrows and all the joys of this present time” (Matthew Henry’s Commentary, Isaiah 35:8-10).

Prayer: Dear Father, Help me remember that this life is but a vapor (James 4:14). There will be an end to pain, sorrow, and suffering. Give me an eternal perspective where I can easily
envision my heavenly home. I know how good it feels to return to my earthly home. Undoubtedly, that will pale in comparison to my arrival in glory. Thank Your for offering a description in Your Word of the wonders which await me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/

Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

Do you think of heaven often? How has focusing on heaven eased your suffering?

This is Brooke Fraser and her voice is so comforting. In this video she sings “Soon.” It is about God’s return, how we will be with our heavenly Father. If you are having a rough day, take a few moments to sit and just listen to the lyrics in this song. Remember, that this life on earth–even when painful–is just a small, small portion of our life that will be spent in eternity with God and Jesus. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

