Have You Been Cut By The Harsh Words Of Others?

harsh-wordsDo you find yourself being cut with harsh words from others? Karlton shares how to respond.

“See what they spew from their mouths–the words from their lips are sharp as swords, and they think, ‘Who can hear us?'” (Psalm 59:7).

Sharp, cutting words can wound us deeply. And the deepest wounds often come from those we love and care about. When we are already sinking low from illness, and a sharp tongue stabs us through the heart, we can be brought very low.

I don’t ever want to hurt someone through a careless word or a cutting remark. I know that words can wound deeper than sharp knives and sometimes do lasting damage to relationships. We must set a guard over our lips, and as tempting as it may be, avoid the temptation of responding in kind to sharp words, which can only end in a deadly duel that has no winners, only losers.

I’m usually pretty good at not being easily offended, but sometimes it is as if my illness pulls back the shield protecting my heart and harsh words cut straight through to my core. When I’m feeling better, I can brush aside the nonsense, but when I’m at my weakest, I can be as vulnerable as anyone, maybe even more so because of affliction.

We will all face harsh words from those around us, perhaps even from those we care about deeply. When stung by pointed words from others, we must admit our pain, take it to the Lord and give it to Him, and also trust Him to right any wrongs done to us.

Perhaps stinging words have recently cut you to the heart. There is no use pretending it doesn’t hurt. You need to take that pain to Jesus, let go of it, and trust Him to right any wrong done to you.

Sometimes you can let the person who hurt you know how you feel, but often confrontation makes things worse, and all you can do is pray, forgive, let it go, and let the Judge of us all deal with it.

Prayer: Dear Lord, the words of others can bring us great pain. Please heal our wounds, and restore our soul. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas is a survivor of Crohn’s Disease, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, and other illnesses. The Lord has been his ever present help in trouble, and has healed wounds caused by harsh words.

Have you been badly wounded by cutting words? Have you taken your wounded soul to Jesus for healing?

Isn’t it wonderful that when we are stung by one’s words we can always cry to God? I know it seems more comforting to pick up the phone and have someone to talk to, but as we rely in Him more and more He becomes the one we most long to talk with. The song with Matt Redman, “You Never Let Go” is a great reminder. -Lisa

3 thoughts on “Have You Been Cut By The Harsh Words Of Others?

  1. I agree that some of the harshest & most hurtful words come from those we hope will show us empathy. It becomes even more difficult when those sharp words come from a Christian. There’s a Bible verse that says, “there is one whose words are like sword thrusts.”

    I have been wondering lately, after my latest piercing, if perhaps we should evaluate the value of confronting hateful statements. Didn’t Jesus say, “Get the behind me Satan!”when Peter’s words were spoken in error? Since my statements concerning my health challenges are merely cursory, I feel that many of the judgmentally condemning remarks come from those who just don’t want to be bothered with offering compassion. It certainly stops me from sharing anything that is very deep. I believe the goal is to silence me. I find that these people are the vary ones who dominate conversations and are high maintenance. Am I hindering their growth by not confronting them? Th

  2. Hi Sherry,
    It is very hard to know when to confront people about their harsh words or treatment. Some people will respond well and it can clear the air, and sometimes you simply need the right timing to confront people. Yet there are those people who are useless to confront because they will take offense or are too foolish to reason with or they get too angry to have a reasonable conversation with. We truly need wisdom from above in these situations, and the first stop is to pray.
    Bless You.

    • Karlton,
      You are most definitely right. It’s tricky to know when to confront and, for me, even trickier to get the courage to do it when I know it is warranted.

Leave a Reply

