A Red-Winged Love Letter from God

love-letterGod send us love letters all the time, but so often we may miss them. Shelly shares.

“The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in His love He will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing ” (Zephaniah 3:17).

You might remember that I love red-winged blackbirds. They are God’s reminder to me of His care, and it’s like a hug when I see or hear them.

Last week I had to travel to undergo a test. I had to drink what is optimistically called a “smoothie” before the test. It’s actually more like radioactive paint. Yummy, right?

My tummy thought so, too. I have car sickness on a good day. Imagine my eagerness to climb into the passenger seat that morning. I really needed a sighting of a red-winged blackbird–badly.

The little jewels love to perch on the fence posts that line the rural roadway. Or they nestle in the tall bushes in the ditches on the roadside. Easily seen from a car, ifyou can turn your head without losing your smoothie.

I was staring straight ahead, my eyes fixed on the center line, to try and quiet my queasy stomach. I was also praying, asking God to please show me in some new way that he was with me on this trip.

Not even one minute after I uttered, “Amen,” I noticed something sitting right in the middle of our lane. As I tried to decide what it was, it took flight.

A shiny black bird who tipped his wing to wink his bright red shoulder at me as it flew out of our path.

I cannot even tell you the shivers that gave me. I felt like His favorite thing right then. His absolute favorite thing.

The Lord our God is with us. He is a mighty Savior. He takes delight in us. With His love, He calms our fears. He rejoices over us with singing.

May you be reminded today, what an individual-loving, specific-gift-giving Father you have. May you be absolutely blown away.

Prayer: Father in Heaven, may your love change lives as it enters hearts. May we help that to happen, by sharing the amazing things You have done for us. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor, among a myriad of other issues mostly stemming from these two. She had brain surgery in 2012, to install a VP Shunt, and had a revision in January of this year. She now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What special reminders does God send you, when you really need to feel His presence?

This beautiful song, “Amazed” by Desperation Band, has few lyrics, but they hold great power and a heart-touching reminder that God dances over us. Shelly and I thought it would bless you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

