Are You Looking for What You Already Have?

already-haveAre you getting caught up in the details when you already have your needs covered? Shelly explains.

“And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever–the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept Him, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him. But you know Him, for He lives with you and will be in you.” (John 14:16-17)

Chronic illness leaves my mind so foggy some days, I’m mentally stumbling into walls. Have you been there?

I’m searching desperately for my keys in my purse as I sit in the car that is already running. Uh-huh.

I’m ranting from room to room about how it can be so easy to need something I need so badly, while the missing glasses lay perched atop my head. Yep.

Once I even made a phone call to find my cell phone, from my cell phone. I know, right? And then I got frustrated because all I got was a busy signal.
Whew. Yeah. Welcome to my world.

So here’s the thing.

I think I’m doing the same thing with Jesus.

I’m asking Him where to go, as I stare at His open arms. I’m begging Him for grace that He’s already bestowed.

I am searching desperately for comfort, and asking the Comforter to point the way.

Are you sometimes so foggy that it’s hard to remember what we have, where to turn, and that He’s already here?

Or is it just me?

Prayer: Dear God, center me. I don’t know what else to pray at this point, but I know Your name. Thank You for letting that be enough. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor, among a myriad of other issues mostly stemming from these two. She had brain surgery in 2012, to install a VP Shunt, and had a revision in January of this year. She now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

How can God help to center you in the fog today?

This is the song, “All I Need” by Shawn McDonald and Shelly recommended it to us. We think we need so much to get by in this world, don’t we? We collect so much stuff. But what we really need is Jesus. This song is a great reminder… and just imagine, we always have what we need. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

