Is Your Underlying Anger With God Getting in the Way?

my-angerDo you serve God despite your pain while still quietly being angry? Julie shares.

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” (Romans 12:12).

When I was first diagnosed with my disease, my first thought was not, “Oh, good! God is working a work in my life to make me more like Christ!”

No . . . my thoughts were that I had served Him the best way I knew how for twenty-two years as a Christian. I didn’t drink, didn’t smoke, or do harmful things to hurt my body, and this was the thanks I got for it? Why bother!?

I was angry with God, although I wouldn’t admit it. I went through the motions: I still taught children at church, still went to church every time they met, but my prayer life dwindled down to thanking God for my food and not much else.

The devil had a short victory in my life at that time because I gave up on prayer. Yes, I was still “serving” God, but the enemy wasn’t too worried about the serving I was doing. There was no power in it without prayer, and there was very little communication with God. My resentment was growing, and I was getting closer to his side than to Jesus.

Sometimes Christians do get angry with God. But He can’t accomplish the great things He wants for you if you are angry with Him and put up a wall.

Are you willing to find out what He wants to accomplish through your life?

Being angry all the time just makes a person miserable. The enemy would love to keep us angry at God all the time, just like he is. He can’t take away your salvation, but he will try to get you as close to his side as he can.

Anger will keep you from being effective in your life, and make you miserable until God finally takes you home, having accomplished nothing.

Prayer: Dear Lord God, give me Your joy and peace to replace any anger I may have against You. Your ways are always perfect. Give me understanding of what your will is for my life. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Was there ever a time in your life when you really were angry with God? How did you overcome that anger?

We have all had season when we have strayed farther from God than we ever intended. Thankfully, He is always there to rush to us as soon as we call out to Him. This song is “Rescue Me” with Kerrie Roberts. Life is so very hard… We never mean to diminish the pain we deal with, but O, how thankful we are that we do have God to turn to! May this video bless you today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

