Can You Give More Than You Realize?

have-to-giveRegardless of the energy you may have today, what you have will never be enough without His supply. Shelly explains.

“Now He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God” (2 Corinthians 9:10-11).

What I have to give . . . it just isn’t enough. Never enough.

In fact, most days what I have to give is less than zero. Chronic illness ensures that I walk around with a deficit. Disability compounds my negative balance.

I’m hopelessly in the red here.

And yet, God continues to lay things on my heart. He continues to expect me to give. He requires more from me, when I feel I have nothing to offer. I long to be able to give, but I seriously question how on earth I can meet demands.

The scripture tells me that when I’m offering a measly tithe of encouragement, He is sends it out like a ringing bell.

When I only have a mite left to place in His hands, He makes it a treasure trove.

He can take my bare bite of hope, and use it to satisfy and fill the multitudes, and the leftovers will fill 12 baskets.

I need to remember to count by 10. Because God is the Master Multiplier. His math astounds.

It’s the blood that gives the power . . .the precious blood shed by Jesus when He had us on His mind. When His focus was so, well, focused that there was room for nothing else in His heart but His deep, abiding longing to be near us.

There was no room for fear or pain. No room for giving up, just scrapping it all and going back to the drawing board. No, there was only room for love in His heart. And that holds power. Power we can’t even fathom.

The kind of power that can take my measly offerings and my negative balance and make them the jackpot to end all jackpots.

That’s the kind of power that covers me. That I live in. That I depend on.

I’m hopelessly in the red here.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, let each word of praise grow to a grand chorus. Allow each word of encouragement to flare like a wildfire. Let me never forget that it is not up to me. Let me offer all that I have, even when it feels like “not enough.” In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012, and another in January of this year, and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

How has God multiplied your offerings lately?

This is a new group I recently discovered and Shelly loves it too! In fact, she heard this song and thought it described God’s mercy and love so well, she wanted to share it with you! The video is unique too, made by a fan, who put a camera underwater in a river and watch what it filmed. Beautifully amazing. Blessings, -Lisa

Leave a Reply

