Finding Peace in the Midst of the Chaos of Illness

peaceHow do we keep consistent peace when our households are chaotic? SL shares.

“Now may the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing His will, and may He work in us what is pleasing to Him through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen” (Hebrews 13:19-21).

Chaos is typical in my house. Between my three sons and foster daughter, noise abounds. I am fighting a losing battle against Play-doh and Nerf gun darts. If I had a nickel for every time I stepped on a Lego in the dark . . .

It isn’t easy managing chronic illness and taking care of kids, but in a funny sort of way, it isn’t all that different. There are the sleepless nights, stress, navigating minefields (trying not to trip over Legos has the same level of difficulty as trying to not get wrapped up in my own IV cord!), and prayer. Lots of prayer.

The one thing there isn’t a lot of is peace.

Peace can be physical like a nice quiet place, but the peace we really need is spiritual and emotional. This kind of peace helps us walk with purpose through the trials we face while ill.

In the chaos I forget that God has given me spiritual peace when He gave the gift of salvation through Jesus’ death on the cross. When I forget this, emotional peace is impossible.

If we forget that God is good and in control, we worry needlessly. No matter what is going on with our illness, we can trust that God has a plan and that whatever darkness He takes us through, He will be right by our side.

We don’t need to have physical peace to live peacefully.

When my two-year-old finds a permanent marker and “decorates” the walls and himself, I can stay calm. It’s only temporal. When I have a flare up or worse, yes, it’s miserable, but God is in control.

Our peace isn’t dependent on circumstances; it is dependent on God. We need to turn to Him; that is why we call Him the Prince of Peace.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, please help me live a life characterized by Your peace. Please help me remember Your perspective when times are good and when there are trials. You have done so much for us through the death of Jesus and please help me not take that for granted. You are in control of everything and please remind me to trust in that. Amen.

About the author:
S.L. Payne lives in North Carolina with her husband, three biological sons and foster daughter. She has had fibromyalgia since she was a little girl, but is thankful for God’s faithfulness. God has used to it help her see Him in everything; the three boys have supplied the humor! She loves writing, photography and laughing with her family. She just launched her brand new website uncommongrace.net where she hopes she can encourage others to live in grace. You can follow her on Twitter @saralynnpayne.

Is your life characterized by peace or by something else? When in the midst of stress, can you make a conscious decision to trust God?

This is Charlie Wilson and there is an amazing story behind his career. As he sings Dove award-nomination, “I Believe” he shares videos of his past career. From being in The GAP Band in the 70s, to losing it all with bankruptcy and drug addiction, to becoming clean and a solo artist, to beating cancer from 2009, he has real credibility when he sings I believe in God’s faithfulness. I hope it touches you as it did me. God always has a plan for us. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

