Embracing Our Freedom In the Middle of Pain

freedom2

God gives us freedom. Lisa shares how this applies to her at this moment today.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery” (Galatians 5:1).

It is the Fourth of July here in the USA. We celebrate the freedom that we are so very blessed to have.

For the first time in years my family has plan to go to the home of some friends for a BBQ.

I had 2 decent days this week, finally recovering from my Rituxan infusion.

And then a new infection hit.

Hard.

I believe it improved the smallest bit this morning so I am hoping to avoid ER on this holiday when it is sure to be busy at the hospital.

Still… my body is tired from fighting this infection.

And I am… uncomfortable–to put it mildly. I planned to take my own car in case I had to return home early. Now I am wondering if I can even go.

And I am bummed.

Jesus has set us free, however! We have our freedom in Christ, through Christ. And our yoke of slavery? For me, it is my illness, this body that never cooperates, this body that doesn’t care about my soul and its desires.

Perhaps you have plans to do something fun today. Or spend your day alone. Maybe your plans have been challenged or changed.

I must focus on the freedom I have. Because I have Jesus I am free. You are free! Note the words in this verse: It is for our freedom that Christ set us free! He wants us to experience freedom.

So join me as we do not let ourselves be burdened by our disease, our pain, our disappointments, our loneliness, our friends who don’t understand. As this scripture tells us, stand firm. Stand firm!

And sing His praises! We have a God who is not fearful of giving His people freedom. He delights in our freedom. Celebrate it!

Prayer: Lord, I give You today. As the United States of America celebrates freedom, let me also celebrate the freedom You have give to us all. It is not dependent on our home country, our laws, or even our faith. You have given us all–each of your children–freedom! Sadly, some of us use this freedoms to not choose You, Lord. I lift up those who take their freedom for granted. Help me honor the freedom You have given me by standing firm when the burdens seem to overwhelm me. In Jesus name, Amen.

About the author:
Lisa Copen has lived with rheumatoid arthritis since 1993 and has days like today when she is so very tired of side effects! She is grateful for the freedom that Christ provides in all circumstances, however. Take a moment today to follow her posts on RM’s Facebook page at http://facebook.com/restministries.

How does it give fresh perspective on your situation when you recall that Jesus gave you freedom and desires you to not focus in being burdens?

There were so many videos to choose from for today, I didn’t know where to start. I love this one, Wintley Phipps singing “Heal Our Land.” The lyrics in this song are what we all need to be praying don’t you think?

This is one of my favorites, the Gaither Vocal Band singing The National Anthem.” It always gives me goosebumps! -Lisa

One thought on “Embracing Our Freedom In the Middle of Pain

  1. Oh no! Soooo sorry to hear of your pain & further illnesses Lisa. Only just read this. Will pray.

    Amen to the focus on freedom. We are so blessed to be living in countries where we’re free to worship the Lord without being locked up & tortured for our faith! Praying for our fellow brothers & sisters in Christ who ARE locked up for their faith because they stand firm & continue to worship their dear Lord & Saviour. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

