How Deep Are Your Roots for Challenging Times?

your-rootsWhat are your roots planted in when it comes to hope in the struggles life gives you.

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream, It does not fear when heat comes, its leaves are always green, it has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit” (Jeremiah 17:7,8).

A good friend shared this verse with me several weeks ago. She knows that the last few months have been some of the most difficult I have ever faced. Living with multiple chronic illnesses with no answers from the doctors, along with other things happening in my life it would be easy for my confidence and faith to be shaken.

She reminded me that while right now the heat has come into my life I have nothing to fear. My roots are deeply grounded in the Lord and He is the one I trust.

While I cannot see the good in the things that have happened I know that God is at work and that someday I will look back at this time in my life and see what God has done. I have made a conscious decision to focus on the positive not to dwell on the negative and to trust in God alone.

Part of the song “That’s What Faith Can Do” has been going through my head for the last several days. They speak of seeing miracles happen, prayers that are answered, and how faith can make all things new, even a broken heart.

I want my faith, my roots to be so grounded in Him that when the hard times come my confidence cannot be shaken. I know that while I may not feel like anything good could possibly come from the situation God can and will use it to “bear fruit.”

These times of testing and trials are when we have to be diligent and take the time to water our “roots” and to stay close to God. I know that God is at work and that I am going to see miracles happen and some of my silent prayers get answered.

Prayer: Thank You, God for friends who love and encourage us. Thank You that You know the silent prayers and concerns of our heart the things we cannot share with others. You know what they are and You provide the peace and comfort that we need to face each day. Lord, help me keep my roots deep in You where they grow and become strong and then are able to reach out to others who are struggling. Amen.

About the author:
Linda Aufrance lives in Phoenix with her faithful loving husband of 40 years. She is blessed with a wonderful daughter, son and daughter in law, and 3 beautiful grandchildren who bring joy and laughter into her day. Linda lives with the daily struggles of MS, lupus, diabetes and several other health issues, but has learned that nothing is impossible with God her prayer is that she remains positive and that others see the hope and peace that only comes from Jesus in her.

When you seriously consider where your roots are this week, what comes to mind? Do you expect other people to meet your expectations? Are you angry at yourself when your body gives out before your to do list is finished? Are they really in the Lord?

Below is the song Linda spoke of, “That’s What Faith Can Do” by the group Kutlass. I know the lyrics will bless you as they have comforted Linda this week. Faith is an amazing gift God has given us. God will never leave our side, even when our faith falters and as soon as we grasp it again, we will find He was there all along. Be blessed. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

