Does Illness Cloud Your Perceptions?

perceptionsOur perceptions of reality can easily be skewed when we are experiencing unrelenting pain. Karlton shares.

“A person’s wisdom yields patience; it is to one’s glory to overlook an offense” (Proverbs 19:11).

When illness has me at my worst, I am ten times more likely to perceive something as an insult, to be offended, or to lose my temper. Occasionally this deterioration in my mood, this detrimental mental and emotional liability change, sneaks up on me. But I try very hard to be aware of it and adjust my thinking to account for it.

Yet there are times when our illness affects our mental and emotional health to the point that we are hurting our relationships and interactions with others and either do not clearly comprehend how badly our illness has affected us, or cannot control how it is affecting us.

Depression, anxiety, endless worry, and cognitive issues can arrive with long term illnesses. We may need medication, therapy, counselling, or the intervention of friends and family to enable us to understand and cope with the mental-emotional effects of illness.

I hate the mental and emotional liabilities of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Sometimes my mood gets so bad I do not recognize myself. At times it helps to pray things out, pour my frustrations out to the Lord. Anchoring my brain in God’s Word helps. Working my way through the books of Psalms and Proverbs and the New Testament Epistles is helpful.

Perhaps you are even now in the throes of skewed perceptions due to your particular illness. You may need help working through such issues. But one thing that always helps me is to take stock of my mental and emotional reactions, to consider whether my reactions are appropriate to the situation, and more than anything else–ask for wisdom from above.

Prayer: Dear Lord, our illnesses make us susceptible to mental and emotional issues and poor responses to perceptions that may not align with the facts. We need Your wisdom and guidance to help us through, especially during times when our perceptions are skewed. Thank You, Lord. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. He isgrateful for the Lord’s help when illness clouds his perceptions.

Do you think your emotional responses are always in alignment with the facts of a situation? Is your illness clouding your perceptions?

Kerrie Roberts sings “No Matter What” in this video about how regardless of what we have done in our life, our less-than-perfect emotions or reactions to circumstances we can always go running back to God no matter what and He will be there for us–no matter what. A good reminder for us all. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

