Does Your Life Feel Like a Mystery Novel?

mysteryDo you grow tired of not having all the answers regarding your illness? Diane explains where to find peace.

“…With all wisdom and understanding, He made known to us the mystery of His will according to His good pleasure, which He purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfillment, to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ” (Ephesians 1:8-10).

Do you enjoy a good mystery? As a girl it was one of my favorite pastimes to read mystery novels, I think I managed to conquer all the Nancy Drew, Sherlock Holmes, and Mrs. Marple adventures in the school library. (Yes, I know, I’m dating myself here. LOL!) I still enjoy a good mystery, except the one I seem to be living right now.

Through no lack of effort as a sleuth, my chronic illness has become quite a mystery to doctors. Though they have looked for clues in every part of my body, the perpetrator of the pain and illness has not been revealed.

So when I came across this verse it was such a pleasant reassurance for me; God the master of the universe, was telling me that He has already revealed the mystery that is most important; Jesus, His life, death and resurrection on the cross, is the only mystery that I really need to understand right now; All for His “good pleasure.”

Yes, I would still love to know the who, what, and why’s of my chronic illness. But for now, until “the times reach their fulfillment, to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ,” I will rejoice in the fact that God has granted me the honor of understanding for the greatest mystery of all–the Gospel of peace, and Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior.

Prayer: Father, what a joy to know that You care about the intricate workings of our lives and our bodies. Though we may have to live through some mysteries as we deal with chronic illness, You have blessed us by allowing Yourself to be revealed through your Son, Jesus Christ. I pray that as we all journey through this, You will grant us wisdom in those things that are most important, our relationship with You. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as an online chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art as well as writing. It is her hope to bring encouragement to others as she deals with various chronic illnesses and pain; comforting others as God has comforted her.

What mystery are you dealing with right now? Has God revealed any answers? What about Jesus? Is he still a mystery to you? Let me know, I’d be glad to share His beautiful mystery as well as the surprise ending with you!

It can be a mystery as we live this life walking beside God, but keep reminding yourself that isn’t a mystery to Him! This song, “Mystery,” by Brook Fraser assures us of the power of praising Him and trusting Him even when the mystery hasn’t been revealed. Aren’t you glad you have the God of the universe, who created the sun and the moons and the oceans and the beauty of nature, in charge if your life? -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Does Your Life Feel Like a Mystery Novel?

  1. Diane, I could not find your devotional posted on our RM site so will respond here!
    I continue to pray that answers will be found re: the source of your pain and trust that God in his timing will give revelation.

    The greatest mystery I face surrounding all that I live with that is limiting and painful it a GREAT mystery that I choose to accept without understanding. It is the wonder of how God can see me through it all, help me to persevere even when there are moments in each day ( many moments in each day ) when I wonder how I will keep going. I choose to keep going and He is ever present to help. It does not take away the pain, but knowing He is with me IN it and it is his strength that is my only resource is a mystery I do not need to solve – but one I am so grateful to accept.

    Love, Lynn

  2. Pingback: Does Your Life Feel Like a Mystery Novel? | Chronic Illness Pain Daily Devotionals

Leave a Reply

