When Our Precious Cry to God Becomes Slang

oh-my-godHow does it make you feel when precious cries to the Father become casual slang? Elizabeth shares.

“God also said to Moses, ‘Say to the Israelites, “The Lord, the God of your fathers–the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob–has sent me to you.” ‘This is My name forever, the name you shall call me from generation to generation'” (Exodus 3:15).

I’ve been away from most media for the past 25 years. Is anyone is interested in is what American television looks like after a voluntary hiatus?

It is the overuse and trivialization of the phrase “oh my God!” This is something I’ve observed in many aspects of general society, not just on TV. It has been offensive to my ears and heart. When exactly did the Name that is no longer welcome in schools or government situations become a catchphrase? To my thinking, it is the misnomer of the century.

Is He? Is He really your God? Do you really want Him in on the conversation? I’ve even heard it from Christians , that assaults my soul the most.

Psalm 25 in the King James Version says in verse 2: “O My God, I trust in Thee. . . ”

Using that phrase in slang to the degree it is used today has been overwhelmingly shocking to me.

During times of deep distress and severe medical situations, the first cry of my soul has been “Oh my God! Hide not Thy face far from me!” When breath stealing, indescribable, pain or sorrow comes my way, I call out His name. As I survive such episodes, this heart cry becomes precious to me. He hears my cry and answers me! No wonder my ears are perhaps more attuned to the phrase.

I realize much of it is thoughtless habit, and I suppose by saying something, I hope it may come to bother more people. Maybe it is because of my strong pain moments, but such a term ought to be the cry of an anguished heart, not the jovial surprise from an unbelievers lips. Illness has changed my perspective on many things, I am glad it keeps me from getting used to such terms and phrases.

Prayer: Lord, my Lord and my God! Hear the cry of my heart and purify my speech and my thoughts. Thank You for being my personal God. My true love, whose name I cannot take lightly. I ask this in Your precious name. Amen.

About the author:
Elizabeth Vendley lives in beautiful Lancaster, Pennsylvania. She has lived with pain since 1996 as a complication from surgery. Her challenges are from interstitial cystitis, dumping syndrome, and narrow angle glaucoma. Her seven children are grown and she has recently, miraculously returned to the work force as a direct care provider. She enjoys connecting with others in the Sunroom.

Have your ears or tongue become immune to such phrases? What goes through your mind when pain climbs to 9 and 10? What can we say when we hear it that will get a gentle but valid point across? How can we be part of the solution?

The name of God is so holy. This is Javen singing “You are God” and Dietrick Haddon singing “We Cry Holy.” Take a moment to just worship the Holy God and all He is. This kind of gospel music all moves my heart. I hope it does the same for you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

