Is Your Illness Holding You Back Or Are You Seeking The Wrong Thing?

seekingWhen we keep seeking God regardless of what our body or emotions tell us, Shelly explains how we are always blessed.

“Those who know Your name trust in You, for You, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek You” (Psalm 9:10).

What am I seeking? Depends on the day. Some days it’s a bit of extra energy. Other days it’s healing.

I seek understanding. I seek opportunities. I seek relief, help and compassion. So much to seek, so little time, right?

This verse reminds me that there is only one thing I need to seek to not be forsaken. The Lord. That’s it. Just Jesus.

Those who know His name trust in Him. I know His name. I whisper it into the dark on the long nights, and feel the comfort of His everlasting arms wrap solid around me. I shout it to the sky in the frustrating moments, and know that He is listening and racing to my rescue. I repeat it like a prayer. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. . . sweetest name I know. He has never not answered. He has never not cared.

He has never forsaken those who seek Him. And so I will be sure that instead of spinning my wheels seeking things that seem good to me, I am seeking Him. Only Him. Always Him.

Do you know His name? Won’t you trust Him?

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Matthew 6:33).

Prayer: Dear Lord, may we always remember that You are all that we need to seek. Thank You for supplying the rest for us, so abundantly. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog athttp://reneweddaily.com

What are you seeking that you need to lay down?

I love acappella music, so I was eager to hear this song Shelly wanted to share with you, ” Better Than Life” by Acappella. It is a comforting song with beautiful lyrics and an amazing sound musically. May it bless you today and remind you that you are not alone in the journey of illness. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

