How Can I Pray When I Can’t Think Straight?

pray2When your brain is foggy and all words fail, Kerryn show how the simplest words still form a prayer.

“This, then, is how you should pray: ‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name’” (Matthew 6:9).

Illnesses commonly affect the brain causing forgetfulness, brain fog and general slowing of brain function. Praying can be difficult when my brain isn’t functioning properly. It can also be very frustrating!

When I’m down to very few words I often recall the story of one of my spiritual heroes: Richard Wurmbrand.

Richard was a Rumanian pastor who was imprisoned for his faith for 14 years. Two of those years were spent in solitary confinement.

Many with illness understand being confined to bed, recliners, or our homes. However Wurmbrand’s solitary confinement involved horrendous tortures and the lack of any comforts at all. There was a constant voice over the loud speaker preventing him from being able to think clearly. Sleep deprivation was a regular addition to his torture.

During this time he prayed the Lord’s prayer over and over. Understandably with sleeplessness and constant propaganda over the loud speakers, it became increasingly difficult to remember the words to the Lord’s prayer. Over time he ended up with only two words.

All memory was gone other than “Our Father.” So he simply prayed what he could remember with all his heart.

A dear friend of mine met Richard Wurmbrand many years ago. She was privileged to be with him when he prayed the Lord’s prayer. Apparently the love and meaning that was expressed in those two simple words was extraordinarily powerful and beautiful. The room was hushed to a breathless peace.

Oh to have a love like that for our Father! Our words don’t need to be fancy or in quantity. All God wants is our heart and love for Him as we pray.

Let Him hear your heart now as you pray with me.

Prayer: Our Father. . . Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What do you pray when you have no words left? Who are the Christians who have influenced you in your prayer life?

“Sweet Hour of Prayer” is one of my favorite hymns I grew up singing. This version with Alan Jackson is one I listen to. When it is hard to put the words together I find music is one of my most helpful ways to connect to the Father. I hope you are blessed by this today. -Lisa

6 thoughts on “How Can I Pray When I Can’t Think Straight?

  1. This was so encouraging as I try to get my body and mind functioning this morning. I will speak/ pray what I know instead of fearing what I can’t.

    • How wonderful that Richard Wurmbrand’s life still encourages others, Jenni. Love your words: ” I will speak/ pray what I know instead of fearing what I can’t.” Amen! Praying for God’s blessings upon you today. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Oh, this was just so sweet, Kerryn. I felt those two words deep down in my soul. I often just say, “Jesus,” when I’m at a loss for words. So thankful for the Holy Spirit’s intercession to fill in all those words I can’t find. Love and heart hugs ❤

    • Thanks Shelly. Yes, amazing how powerful those 2 special words are & the depth that each word gives. Gentle hugs & prayers being sent your way. LOTSoluv Kerryn

  3. Pingback: My Prayer « Linda Blogs

Leave a Reply

