Are You Guilty of Judging Healthy Friends’ Choices?

judgingHave you ever judged one who is healthy because they don’t seem to appreciate their health? Diane shares how we can filter our thoughts.

“When they kept on questioning Him, He straightened up and said to them, ‘Let anyone of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her,’ Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground“ (John 8:7-8).

Here I am, reading a post on Facebook or perhaps the internet, looking at the pictures someone has posted or an article, and in comes a thought. It slithers in quite unobtrusively. It’s a critical thought, something like,”boy, they sure need to change their hairstyle, dress, actions. . . their life!”

Perhaps these kinds of thoughts never sneak into your mind, but unfortunately they do mine. Sometimes, living with chronic Illness, I find myself being more critical of others and the way they may be living their lives.

Not that I do such a bang up job, but maybe as I look at the freedom they have, without illness, I don’t understand their actions. The good thing is I’m finally recognizing them for what they are–those sneaky, negative thoughts, are me, a sinner in my own right, choosing to judge another person without really knowing all the circumstances of their life.

What trials and hardships they have endured, what led up to the situation they are in at this moment in time.

When Jesus was confronted with the woman caught in adultery, what did He do? He asked for her accusers to examine themselves first. First, whoever was without sin could judge. None could. The only one who could have that ability was He, Jesus. He didn’t judge. He knew her whole story–everything until that very moment–and what was His reaction?

He offered her compassion, forgiveness, and love.

I’m so thankful that when I sin He knows my whole story also, and still chooses to do the very same for me. In that reflection, I pray that God will continue to help me recognize and hold each thought captive, always offering the same love and forgiveness that He gives me.

Prayer: Father, thank You that every day You choose to love me and forgive me when I fail. Allow me to see the good in each individual just as You do. Remind me that I don’t know their whole story, but You do, and my job is to encourage them on the journey, not to judge. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as an online chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art and writing as well. It is her hope to bring encouragement to others as she deals with various chronic illnesses and pain; comforting others as God has comforted her.

Do you find yourself judging others, sometimes frustrated how healthy people spend their lives? How do you get your thoughts under control?

This song with Krystal Meyers is “The Beauty Of Grace.” We all need forgiveness, and most of us run from it at one time or another. This is a heartfelt song from God to you about the beauty of grace. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

