Our Sacrifice Due To Our Chronic Illness

sacrificeOur illness gives us many chances to sacrifice our desires for the comfort of others. Karlton shares.

“Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God” (Ephesians 5:1-2).

Throughout my daughter’s childhood my illnesses kept me from being able to travel much or to be involved in her activities. This was one of the most painful things in my life. I missed far too much. But I determined that my disabilities would not limit or get in the way of her activities.

Often I had to grit my teeth in frustration as my wife and daughter headed out the door to some activity or event. I assured them that I was fine, and they must not feel bad for me, but to enjoy the event. I would not go to something that I knew would end up with me becoming a drag on their fun as my illnesses kicked in.

We sacrifice much because of our illnesses. It is hard to stay home, to lay in our sickbed and watch our loved ones go off to have fun without us. Yet we don’t want the day to revolve around our limitations instead of the enjoyment of our loved ones.

Many such events found me home, just the Lord and me in solitude. It is one of those sacrifices that our illness demands that costs us memories and joy and experiences we will never get back. I think it may be the very worst thing about illness and disability. It is a terrible price to pay for a body that cannot function normally and reminds us of the fact time and again.

Perhaps you too have made sacrifices because of your illness and feel robbed of experiences with family and friends. These situations are ones we must give over to God, and trust that the losses we suffer here, will be recompensed there.

Prayer: Dear Lord, illness has robbed us of so much, give us comfort and peace in place of our losses. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. His illness has robbed him of much in life, but God has given him grace and comfort in place of bitterness.

Do feel you have been robbed of events and experiences by illness? Have you taken these frustrations to God in prayer?

This song is “Shadowfeet” with Brooke Fraser. It is a song about moving closer to the person we are becoming as we draw closer to God. As the lyrics express, we still feel like the world is falling out from under us at times, and it taking the easy route (like a pity party) has its temptations, we know the Lord’s way is better. I hope it makes you think and bless you today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

