Understanding the Power and Priorities of Our Words

WORDS2Our words have power and potential. Fiona shares how words also have priorities in our life.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The Word became flesh and made His dwelling among us. We have seen His glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth” (John 1:1,14).

From the time I was a child I’ve loved words. Hearing them; reading them in books; understanding their meaning and use; using those words to express what I want to say, or write about; even spelling them correctly.

I love to read and now I’ve developed a love for writing. I wrote a children’s book and some poetry before I began journaling and writing about my faith–what I feel and what I learn. I am often reminded that my writing, in any form, would be a surprise to my English teacher who nearly failed me one year! Fortunately, others were more encouraging about my writing.

We use words to get our message across to others–when we write or speak.

As writers, words are important. Words grab your attention, place someone else in your feelings and thoughts, tell a story, and give directions or instructions.

When speaking, words are important–to teach; challenge; explain fears, joys, and empathy; instruct; rebuke; exhort.

These are just some that come to mind–there are many others. We watch, we learn–but we listen and take in what people say, as well as how they act.

The above verses remind us that God became man to get His message across.

Jesus coming to earth was a way of God showing us a life of love for God, love for others and a model for a Godly life–that people got to hear, see, and later record for us to read in our Bible today. Words for us to hear, learn and live by–words to keep that message handy.

I‘m grateful for the encouragement my grandfather gave me to write about what was important to me. Words are still important, but I don’t want them to ever be more important than the Word.

Prayer: Father God, we thank You for Your Word–the Bible. Help us to love Your Word and may it guide and influence the words we speak, write, and use towards others. May we use words with a power of good, to build up, not to tear down, and may the words point others to You. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

How important are words to you? How does the Bible–God’s Word–help you face the challenges of chronic illness?

Scripture tells us that our mouth reflects our heart. If you are having difficulty controlling your words, perhaps it is time to ask God to take your heart fully. I hope you enjoy this moving song, “Take My Heart Captive,” with Gwen Smith. She sings of crying out to God during those difficult times of suffering and asking Him to take our heart. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

