Removing The Mess So I Can Worship

messesDo you have a mess in your life that is preventing you from feeling the Lord’s presence? Kerryn shares.

“Then I will go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise You with the lyre, O God, my God” (Psalm 34:4).

Lying on my couch tonight doesn’t bring a sight of joy or delight! Normally, a beautiful display on my coffee table reminds me of the Lord’s presence, as I pray and am still with God. Currently “joy” is the word at the center of it.

However, my eyes are drawn to the piles and piles of books that are in front of this display table. It’s a chaotic mess!

A dear friend recently re-organized my son’s bedroom for him. Part of the re-ordering was pulling out a bookcase full of books. Frustration has been building, as these piles of books are in the only tidy space in our house. This is the space where visitor’s come and we can pretend that we have a tidy, organized house.

How like life this is! We present ourselves in the ways that we want to be seen, while hiding behind us, deep in our hearts, is the “mess.”

The “mess” may be sinful behaviors, cruel words, anxious thoughts, and so my list could go on! It prevents us from coming to the altar of God, obscuring our joy and delight. Mostly it prevents us from coming to praise God.

It doesn’t have to stay that way. I can clean up the piles of books and remove them from view. That takes physical effort from me.

Amazingly I can come before God, remembering that He took all of my “mess” when He died on the cross. God has removed it from me, so that I can worship Him with free abandon.

Likewise, right here, right now, I can worship my dear God and not even notice the mess in front of the display. However, I need to choose where my focus is . . . mess or Messiah!

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank You that You died on the cross to take our “messes” from our lives. You are my joy and delight. I praise You, Lord. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What “messes” will you hand over to the Lord now, remembering that He died for your sins? Once you’ve handed them over, come and worship the Lord with joy and delight in free abandon.

Our messes distract us so easily. This devotional reminded me of one of my favorite songs by a friend of mine, Gwen Smith. This songs, “Uncluttered” is a needed reminder that God can always break through our messes and turn them into miracles. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Removing The Mess So I Can Worship

  1. Kerryn, this is beautiful and timely, as always. Thank you for sharing your heart so freely here. Love you! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks Shelly. 🙂 I love how God times these devotionals for us for just when we need them.

      I still have a little pile of books there! They’re the ones I want to keep that have no home. Sending gentle hugs. ♥ Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • Thanks Karlton. 🙂

      Yep!! That day my “messes” were driving me crazy….. until God clearly spoke to me through it. LOVE how He does that for us. Have a good day Karlton. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

