We are Indispensable to God

indispensableHave you realized how indispensable you are to God when your illness threatens to limit you? Bridget shares.

”On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor” (1 Corinthians 12:22-23).

I’ve been dealing with some hip problems the last few years and my pain has gotten increasingly worse over the last six months. I had no idea how much I use my hip and thigh in the course of the day!

This pain affects how I walk, sit, stand, and sleep. I’ve learned to make compensations and adjust. I can still do most of what I normally do, but with slight modifications.

It’s the same concept we deal with in the body of Christ. When we become ill or deal with chronic pain we are still needed in the Body of Christ, but we must make adjustments. The key is–we are still needed! This was a huge “Aha!” moment for me.

I admit I have been struggling with my calling over the last year. I’ve wondered how I can be useful as a friend, teacher, family member, and administrative assistant when I deal with pain so often. I wondered if I was a valuable asset to God. What I really wanted to know was could I really be a productive member of society?

I know many of you have the same questions and fears as I do. The answer is yes, we are a valuable asset to God–Scripture says so and Scripture does not lie. I never realized before that God sees those that are “weaker” as indispensable. Wow!

We all play roles that are needed. We might just need to make some modifications like these:

  1. Make the most of every opportunity. When you’re feeling good, do what you can.
  2. Rest when needed. Resting is okay–it allows you to serve when able.
  3. Make modifications to activities if need be. Maybe you can’t minister five days a week, maybe you can do one day. So serve that one day and feel good about it. Maybe all you can do right now is pray for others and send encouraging notes. That’s enough and it’s important.
  4. Don’t set too high of expectations for yourself. It’s okay to start out with small steps. Those steps still go somewhere!
  5. Thank God for the opportunities you do have to serve Him. God still have a place for you friends!

Prayer: Dear God. I admit that sometimes I don’t feel very valuable and needed. But You say differently. Help me to see that I am needed. Guide me to ways I can serve You. Amen.

About the Author:
Author and artist Bridget Gazlay resides in West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, irritable bowel syndrome, arthritis and migraines. Bridget’s prayer is that those who come across her writing or artwork would see that she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” You can learn more about Bridget at http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

Have you discovered a way that God has used you when you once were not sure what He would do with you due to your circumstances? Do you realize you are I dispensable?

This is Michael W. Smith singing his latest single, “You Won’t Let Go.” No matter what we do, how far we run, the choices we make, God will never let go of you and I, trying to reach us and draw us back to Him. Beautiful song. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

