Endless Help is Available When Facing Illness

endless-helpAlthough the help we may receive isn’t always there when we need it, God provides endless help that Vicki shares, He is eager to give.

“Unless the Lord had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death. When I said, ‘My foot is slipping,’ Your unfailing love, Lord, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, Your consolation brought me joy” (Psalm 94:17-19).

Where would you go to be surrounded by protection? How about a weight lifting competition? My son invited me to watch one with him.

The lady who took my entrance fee handed me a ‘lovely’ neon paper bracelet.

“Do you want help?” she offered (noticing my struggling hands).

“Yes, please.”

“They’ll be an extra charge for that,” she teased.

“Put it on my tab. I’ll be needing lots of help!” I teased back.

Behind that humor hid some truth. Thanks to my multiple sclerosis, I do need help. I’ll need it more and more.

Dependence on others can be humbling. I’m learning to trash the pride, but keep the sense of humor. Still, I don’t like to be high-maintenance. I hesitate to ask for help. I would much rather do things on my own.

Some of us pay for necessary help–like physical therapy to walk.

God’s help is free. Are we missing out on His assistance? We shouldn’t be like Christ’s followers who didn’t want to bother the Lord.

The disciples rebuked those who brought little children to Jesus. He wasn’t put out. He laid hands on them. Followers tried to silence two blind men who called out to Jesus. Christ restored their vision.

Jesus demonstrated His willingness to help. He did it then and He’ll do it now. We have the promise that, “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble” (Psalm 46:1).

Hebrews reminds us we can boldly seek His help.

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need” (Hebrews 4:16).

Joshua’s assurance is ours:

“As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Joshua 1:5).

Prayer: Dear Father, How I praise You that I have access to Your help! There are no barriers to Your love; no obstacles to Your comfort. Broaden my understanding of all You offer: perfect peace, lasting joy, powerful protection, real presence. Remove any pride that prevents me from accepting help from others. Remind me of the blessing they’ll receive for their compassion. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/

Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

My second graders helped me in many ways when I still taught. What’s the youngest age of someone who’s helped you? What did they do?

This is a beautiful song “Broken Hallelujah” by The Afters. It is a great reminder that we can always give God what we have. He is not requiring anything from us but surrender and adoration. He gives us endless help and we can give Him our endless love and trust. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

