Letting God Be The I Am Of Your Life

i-amHave you been worrying about “I am this” and “I am that”? Karlton reminds us who is the great I Am?

“God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I Am has sent me to you”‘” (Exodus 3:14).

I am frustrated. I am exhausted. I am anxious. I am worried. I started my list of “I am’s” in prayer. The Lord cut me off, reminding me He is the I Am. He can’t be the “I Am” of my life while I am trying to be the “I Am”–seeking to control and do the things only He can control and do.

It is hard to let go of our cares and worries, challenging to let loose of the difficulties and frustrations we have gotten into the bad habit of holding tightly on to. We don’t want to worry, or be frustrated, or be constantly angry over the hardships in our lives, but we are.

We might even make up our mind not to be stressed or upset over the challenges that come our way, perhaps regain a moment of peace. But then we are overthrown by yet another problem that comes our way, as we take charge and try to fix whatever it is that troubles us.

You have heard the saying: “Let Go And Let God.” It is true, but easier said than done. Yet if we could only develop the habit of trusting God as easily as we develop the habit of worrying, we would find our blood pressure lowering and our level of peace rising.

There can only be one God in your life, one God in complete control of your life. The truth, is you have so little control anyway you might as well let God have His throne chair back.

God is the great I Am. There can be no other. Remember that the next time you begin telling God: “Lord, I am worried, I am fearful, I am struggling. . . ” Let God, the one and only God and Great I Am, let Him have control of the many things troubling your heart.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us never to forget that You are I Am. You are the One who controls our lives. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. He is very grateful that God is God and that he is not.

Do your troubled prayers begin with “I am. . .”? The next time you begin to list your “I am” troubles, remember God is the great I Am, and He is ultimately in control. How will this change your perspective?

A to is hard to let go of the things we depend on, including ourself, even when we know it is false comfort. I think you will find comfort and familiarity in ths song, “Remedy Drive” with the group Daylight as they sing of broken dreams and hope for the future and what God has planned. God bless you. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Letting God Be The I Am Of Your Life

Leave a Reply

