Do You Have Your Blinders On?

blindersIf you have been given blinders of some kind due to your illness, Shelly’s reminder of how God uses them will speak to you in a new way.

“My eyes are ever on the Lord, for only He will release my feet from the snare.” (Psalm 25:15)

The NLT version translates the above verse this way:

My eyes are always on the Lord, for He rescues me from the traps of my enemies.

A brain condition has stolen my peripheral vision. I haven’t been able to see my periphery for about 5 years now. It’s off and on, but mostly off.

This has taken my ability to drive. It has robbed me of the ability to enjoy scenic views. It has made me less confident of my surroundings, and I’m often scared when people approach me quickly from the side, because I can’t see them coming.

Now let me tell you what the loss of peripheral vision has done for me.

There is a reason that people put blinders on work horses, or horses that are surrounded by things that could frighten them.

My vision issues are a physical reminder of where my eyes need to be . . . always. And that they should share the direction my feet are pointing, for safety.

I move much slower, use much more caution, and take less chances. I trust my other senses more. I depend on others. And when things are moving too quickly or I reach a new fear, I stop, close my eyes, and take time to refocus.

On God.

My eyes are always on the Lord, for He rescues me.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, continue to lead me. Thank You for this blessing in disguise, these blinders that protect me. Yet again you amaze me as You bring me softly back to You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What can you do today to help secure your blinders?

We sing songs about putting our focus in the Lord but our illnesses and side effects bring a new reality and understanding to these hymns. Shelly thought you would enjoy this classic, “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” by Selah. I have grown up hearing this song but after reading Shelly’s devotional it gives it new meaning. I hope it does the same for you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

