We are His Treasured Possession, But Do We Choose Him?

chooseWe ask for God’s comforting presence but then we choose to fidget away. Kerryn shares.

“You are a people holy to the Lord your God. Out of all the peoples on the face of the earth, the Lord has chosen you to be His treasured possession” (Deuteronomy 14:2).

A recent trauma has caused a roller-coaster of adrenaline rushes.

Currently it feels like an army of ants are racing through my body, with nervous energy cranking out adrenaline at most inappropriate times. This causes jitters and my brain to race with constant thoughts that can’t seem to be reigned in.

“Tame the body and brain to be really still at those times,” I’m advised. Hmmm . . . easier said than done!

I did my usual restful prayer meditation, of imagining myself as a little child crawling up onto Jesus’ knee. While there, He places his strong, yet gentle, nail-scarred arms around me. Reassuringly He holds and comforts me, as I lean my head and ear into His expansive chest.

I sense His slow and steady heart-beat that calms my nerves. His deep and peaceful breaths, heaving His chest gently. His peace calms me.

Suddenly the adrenalin pumps again and, like a little child, I fidget and wriggle and jump down. My body is fighting the calm.

At this point, I sense God’s familiar way of speaking to me.

* How often do I miss His best because I choose to wriggle and jump “free”?

* How often have I struggled to “free” myself from His gentle grasp to choose my own “freedom”?

I complain because I can’t feel His peace, comfort, hope and joy, but I’ve simply removed myself . . . by choice.

Everything is there for me, but I need to choose to “be still and know that He is God.” Within that stillness, on His knee, is all that I need. He has chosen me to be “His treasured possession.” Will I choose Him in this moment?

Why choose anything else? “The Lord has chosen you to be His treasured possession”–so will you choose Him?

Prayer: Lord, thank You that I am Your treasured possession and that You have chosen me. When I’m scatty and restless, help me to choose to seek You and to rest and be still in Your arms. Your best is there for me to choose. I accept! Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

How do you view yourself? What helps you to be still when your body is restless?

Sometimes it’s easy to look around at the beauty God has created and be in awe of nature. Imagine how much more precious you are to Him than a flower or a rock! This song is “Magnificent” by Darlene Zschech. Sometimes we need to stop looking around and just look up! When we worship Him suddenly things start to fall into place. Incidentally, Keep Darlene in your prayers. The artist is currently battling breast cancer from a diagnosis in December. You can follow her on Twitter @DarleneZschech.

3 thoughts on “We are His Treasured Possession, But Do We Choose Him?

  1. Kerryn, your description of our Savior’s lap is so touching! I’ll be imagining that later. Love you and praying for you! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks Shelly. 🙂 God gave me this picture when I first became ill. God is good!

      May God comfort you in all you’re going through dear friend. Gentle hugs. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Lisa, thanks for letting us know about Darlene. I didn’t know she’s battling breast cancer. Will pray for sure!

    I had the deep blessing of going to Hillsong about 13 years ago. Darlene is a gifted worship leader & truly worships God when she’s on stage, so that it’s NOT a performance. PTL! Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

