How Can I Flourish When Tough Times Hit?

toughWhen life fills with storms, how can you withstand the tough times? Kerryn shares.

“It was majestic in beauty, with its spreading boughs, for its roots went down to abundant waters” (Ezekiel 31:7).

It’s amazing that the toughest times in my life have been the times where my faith has gone deepest and my relationship with God has been more intimate.

Don’t get me wrong! At the start I’m in turmoil, angst, fear, desperation, and frustration. However, somewhere in amongst that, I’m brought to the end of my ability and into the desperate need for my Heavenly Father. I’m not good at going to Him first, but when I do I feel His peace, comfort, love, and reassurance.

There’s a striking parallel in the aftermath of hurricanes, cyclones, and storms. Palms are one of the only trees that remain after the horrendous winds. Their fronds are gone, but the trunk is still there, despite having been bent over double during the worst of the storm.

Did you know that palm tree roots go deeper than its height?

Most trees roots only go down a few feet, but the palm roots go deep, searching for water. When the intense winds come, the roots go deeper. It helps to strengthen it for future storms.

I want to be like a palm tree, strengthened by the storms of life with my roots going deeper to His Living Water.

Psalm 92:12 says, “The righteous shall flourish like a palm tree.”

James 1:2-3 tells us “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”

And I like how William Taylor sums it up:

“The strength of the vessel can be demonstrated only by the hurricane, and the power of the Gospel can be fully shown only when the Christian is subjected to some fiery trial. If God would make manifest the fact that ‘He giveth songs in the night,’ He must first make it night.”

Prayer: Dear Lord, show me how to grow deep roots of faith for the inevitable storms in my life. Keep me supple to bend, and not break, when the windiest times buffet me about. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What can you do for your “roots” to go deeper in preparation for the tough times? What does the palm tree teach you about being strengthened through the storms of life?

In this video Colton Dixon sings, “Never Gone.” Those tough times will come but God never leaves our side. This video is a reminder of how we can live many years with hope as well. (Okay, it made me cry.) No matter what we do, what we face, or the choices we make (some good, some bad) God is like this Father who always keeps the light on. -Lisa

5 thoughts on “How Can I Flourish When Tough Times Hit?

  1. Great devotion Kerryn. Hardship and suffering can push us deeper into the Father’s arms. I like the palm tree comparison, very well done 🙂
    Blessings.

  2. Thanks Karlton. 🙂

    I’ve always been fascinated by palm trees after major storms, cyclones etc. A few years ago, when I discovered about HOW their roots systems grow, I remember crying with the significance of that…. such a revelation from God. Since then it’s continued to inspire me in the tough times. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  3. Kerryn, this brought me to tears! I did not know that about palm trees, but what a picture that will never leave my heart! Thank you for this! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks dear Shelly. 🙂

      How sweet of God to minister that deeply to you through this image of palm trees too. Thanks Lord! Interesting that this understanding about palm trees ministers sooooo deeply to our souls, in the same way that their roots go so deeply! May God continue to bring deeper revelations about this to you, as He’s done for me. God is good. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn ♥

Leave a Reply

