God Sees My High Hills

hillsWe often compare our hills to the hills of others, but Fiona reminds us of how personal God is.

“The Sovereign Lord is my strength; He makes my feet like the feet of a deer, He enables me to go on the heights” (Habakkuk 3:19).

A while ago a friend sent me the above verse, but from a slightly different translation. Instead of the phrase “on the heights” it said “on my high hills.”

I was familiar with the verse, so these minor changes when I read it, tended to stand out and I went searching to find out if I just remembered it wrongly. But then I got to thinking how important it is to know that God enables me to not just walk, or run like a deer, on the hills–but on my high hills.

My life is unique–and I’m sure there are plenty that are glad about that! I’m often glad others don’t have to share the experiences I have, nor would I wish my pain on someone else. No one else has the exact same situation. My high hills might sometimes seem insurmountable, but God has known they will be my hills.

I’ve always loved hills and mountains–the views one often gets of them, or from them. God knows me personally and while I may not have the speed or sure feet of a deer, and climbing hills or mountains isn’t always possible now, I can still enjoy the hills.

God doesn’t ask us to scale the heights that others may be called to–He just asks me to walk, climb, or maybe even crawl, on my high hills. He will be my strength for whatever lies ahead–and what’s ahead is not hidden from Him, He already knows and He sees my high hills.

In Philippians 4:13 it says “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength”–or sometimes it says “I can do all this.”

What a comfort to know that “all this” in just “my hills” that God already knows.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I thank You that nothing in my life is hidden from You. You know and understand the struggles I face and the challenges that may lie ahead and You have planned a way for me to “do all this” with You. May that be a comfort to all who read this today, as it has been to me. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do you feel there are hills ahead that are insurmountable to you? Is knowing that God already knows you will face them, helping you to hang in there and climb them with His strength?

Yes, there will be hills. There will be mountains that seem impossible to conquer. But we were not created to be able to conquer either one without the Lord’s strength. I hope you like this video, “Rise Up” Matt Maher. It talks about those hills, but it also talks about rising up, looking up! Regardless of what you are going through God is there to give you strength to keep going on. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

