Bouquets of Roses From God

rosesLittle things are roses gathered by God? Jackie shares this encouragement.

“If you, then, give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him” (Matthew 7:11)

G.K. Chesterson said, “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought; and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” A few years ago I learned a beautiful way to make gratitude as “happiness doubled by wonder.”

In the book Jesus Calling Sarah Young suggests in her book that as we go throughout our day we intentionally notice God’s gracious gifts He lovingly plants along our path. She believes that we consider each surprise as a bouquet of “tiny treasures.” At the end of the day we gather our heartfelt bouquets and gratefully place them in God’s hands in exuberant gratitude (pg 342).

I think of my bouquet as roses I gather every day to present to my Lord. There are the simple treasures like someone holding a door open for me, an unexpected hug, a smile from a stranger, a call from a grandchild, or a day that I feel good, or someone understanding my limitations of a chronic disease.

One day, as I felt in turmoil about some family problems, I encountered Hosea 2:15 in three different locations within a few days, “I will give her bouquets of roses. I’ll turn Heartbreak Valley into Acres of Hope” (The Message).

My heart could have just burst–God wanted me to know that He was deliberately giving me these bouquets of rose and the family heartache resolved itself in ways that I couldn’t imagine.

As we all struggle with a chronic disease, we can fine-tune our gratitude for God’s gifts planted throughout every day. Some days we have to be more vigilant than others, but keep looking for the roses especially sent to you. I love the song “My Tribute” by Andre Crouch. A phrase in it says, “The voices of a million angels cannot express my gratitude.”

Prayer: Lord, how gracious you are to us. Give us a receptive attitude in order to recognize Your treasures. As we lovingly give our bouquet of roses back to you every evening, may we experience the transformation that comes with gratitude. Amen.

About the author:
Jackie Smith is from Knoxville, TN near the beautiful Smoky Mountains. She struggles with the autoimmune disease Sjogren’s and migraine headaches. Jackie is a breast cancer survivor of 25 years, and just recently had her colon removed necessitating an ileostomy. She has her masters in Child and Family Studies. While she has never been able to work using her degree, she has great joy using it with her husband of 35 years, 5 children and 13 grandchildren. Jackie loves sharing her love in an awesome God.

Gratitude changes us. What are the “tiny treasures” you’ve been given in the last 24 hours?

Here is the song, “My Tribute” with Andre Crouch and soloist, Alfie Silas, that Jackie mentioned above. It is absolutely beautiful. Take a few minutes today to listen to it and just soak up all the ways God blesses you and I. You will be able to conquer the day with a new kind of refreshment. -Lisa

One thought on “Bouquets of Roses From God

Leave a Reply

