But. . . God

but-godWhatever your circumstances the phrase “but God” can change your life. Fiona shares.

“My flesh and my heart may fail but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm 73:26)

Last year, four of my friends lost a parent. I’ve reached an age where that’s a more common reality.

One friend commented in the middle of the year that it’d been a terrible year for her family. Then her brother had a stroke just before Christmas and she said the end of the year couldn’t come soon enough–before something else bad happened!

I wanted 2013 to be over. It had been a difficult year and as it came to a close, I longed to get past Christmas and be able to take some time to rest. I hoped the additional health problems that were challenging me, would settle down if I could just rest and recover.

As that time of rest progressed and things were not a whole lot better, I started to wonder.

Was hoping 2014 would be different really realistic, or only a dream? What if nothing really changed to make things any easier? At the beginning of another year, what am I trusting in?

I don’t really know if the time away from my part-time work has made a huge difference. I don’t know if I will still struggle with the same things during this year–or maybe the challenges will be different ones.

I want to be able to say with the Psalmist, whatever happens, God will still be my strength and I want to trust God more in 2014.

Many of us could list a whole lot of negatives in our lives. The challenges of chronic illness; troubles in our families; work or service; relationships. The list could be long.

The thing that stands out to me most in the above verse, is the phrase “but God.” God is able to overcome anything on the list and with His help, so can I.

Prayer: Father, thank You for the promises in this Psalm. Thank You that whatever happens in this year, I can hold on because nothing is unknown to You. Whatever the challenge–But God! You are greater. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

How will “But God” help you to look at 2014 differently?

God can always change us, no matter what we are dealing with, what our past holds, what our sinful instinct may be. Brandon Heath sings, “The Light In Me,” sharing how God changes us! Enjoy! He is creating a good work in you regardless of what your circumstances may feel like today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

