How to Keep A Heavenly Perspective When Life is Dreary

heaven2Perhaps you are living in shades of gray right now, but Vicki explains how we can see the colors of heaven is we look around.

“For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known” (1 Corinthians 13:12)

The art activity sparked a new-found appreciation of my students’ surroundings. Excitement replaced boredom.

It began like any other assignment. The objective: create a project that looked like a stained-glass window. Students’ responses: routine. Void of excitement.

Students helped distribute colorful strips of plastic paper. Every student received three colors: blue, red, and yellow. They were told to cut out small pieces. And glue them on a large piece of clear paper using rubber cement.

Then the magic happened. The children couldn’t resist looking through the colorful paper. The mood of the classroom became instantly transformed. The room erupted with exuberant observations.

“Wow! Look at that! Awesome! Oh, everything’s so pretty!”

Looking through colorful paper altered my students’ attitudes. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could instantly change our view of suffering?

I wonder. If I looked at my situation through God’s love lens, would my attitude change?

When I begin my day reading His Word, He reveals wonderful things. God’s Word has the same effect as the colored paper. I notice the beauty of His creation. “Wow! Look at that!” I sense His presence and feel His peace. “Awesome!”

I clearly see that He cares for me with power and tenderness.

“See, the Sovereign Lord comes with power. . . He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” (Isaiah 40:10-11)

I discover sparkling jewels. Like confident peace, imbedded in a familiar verse.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

My eyeglasses help me have 20/20 vision. The Bible, God’s love lens, helps me see eternity.

Prayer: Dear Father, Thank You for Your Word that sustains me. It corrects my blurry vision of pain and brings Your purposes into focus. Help me see my situation as You’d have me view it. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

When you look through God’s love lens and read His Word, what excites you? What leaves you in awe?

The news of our day can easily discourage us, but Jeremy Camp reminds us in his song, “There Will Be A Day” that this is all just temporary. Take a moment today to focus on what we have to look forward to! -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How to Keep A Heavenly Perspective When Life is Dreary

  1. Vicki, this is really beautiful! I hope when God looks at me, He sees pleasing colors, like through stained glass. Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Dear Shelly,
      I’m sure He sees that and more (stained and washed clean with His Son’s blood)!!! It’s hard to fathom that the Creator of the universe formed us … we are perfect in His sight.
      Blessings, Vicki

  2. Oh, Patricia, Amen to that day—better yet, the end to ALL loneliness (our eternal hope).
    Loneliness: one of the greatest pains to bear. My pastor recently said there’s an epidemic of loneliness in our country. May God reveal His presence and peace to those in solitude during their darkest moments of isolation.
    And may His blessings overflow for you today, Patricia.
    “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (Psalm 73:26)”

Leave a Reply

