Is Illness Making Us Grumble Over His Daily Manna?

grumbleJust because we have reason to grumble doesn’t mean we should. Kerryn shares.

“The Lord said to Moses, ‘I have heard the grumbling of the Israelites. Tell them, “At twilight you will eat meat, and in the morning you will be filled with bread. Then you will know that I am the Lord your God”‘” (Exodus 16:11-12).

It’s not easy during illnesses, and grumbling can become an all too familiar thought pattern if I’m not careful.

I see many parallels from the story in Exodus to chronic invisible illnesses. We’re taken out of a comfortable, familiar environment into a desert experience. There’s a sparseness of all of the comforts that were there before.

It’s easy to think that God just doesn’t care and isn’t providing for our needs. However, God did provide for the Israelites out in the desert, and He provides for us too.

He provided daily direction with the cloud of His glory and manna each day, which tasted good. Quails were provided each night, but grumbling continued. Water was even provided out of rock. Trust God to put on a show to let them know that He’s providing for all of their needs.

I have daily food, shelter and water. The Lord also directs my paths and yet I find myself grumbling! Interestingly there are 25 Bible references to the word “grumbling.” It says in John 6:43, “Stop grumbling among yourselves,” Jesus answered.

Jesus was speaking to the Jews. What really surprised me was that it was in amongst “Jesus the Bread of Life”–quite a step up from the manna!

So what were the two sections before this? “Jesus Feeds the Five Thousand” and “Jesus Walks on the Water.” Yet again references, to feeding us and to the miracles around water. Sadly the section straight after this is “Many Disciples Desert Jesus.”

There is much about this that has humbled me and caused me to come before the Lord and contemplate how I have grumbled over His goodness. He’s reminding me that He is providing for me each and every day.

Humble or grumble . . . an interesting choice!

Prayer: Oh Lord, thank You for Your Word that brings us back again and again to Your truths, help and direction for our lives. Sorry for grumbling to You Lord. Help us to turn our grumbling into gratitude. Remind us of all that You have provided on a daily basis. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What helps you to turn your grumbling into gratitude? What has God provided for you amongst your desert experiences? How is God speaking to you through this?

It is hard not to complain some days, isn’t it? We all are tempted to let lose our emotions. This song, “Through the Fire” with Hawk Nelson has some great lyrics that share some of our feelings. Yes, it hurts! Yes, this life is hard! But God will never leave us. He is right here with us through it all. I love this group and I hope you do as well. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Is Illness Making Us Grumble Over His Daily Manna?

  1. Great devotion Kerryn 🙂 It is hard not to grumble when we feel so irritable and grouchy because of our illnesses. Grumbling doesn’t get us anywhere though.
    Blessings.
    Karlton

    • Thanks Karlton. 🙂
      I needed my own message today, as has been a grumbly day! Woops!! You’re right though it sure doesn’t get us anywhere….. other than feeling miserable, even when we have good cause. Time for bed & a fresh start tomorrow. Actually I wrote this one months ago, but only edited it recently. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Kerryn, this hits home for me, too! I wish I didn’t have to constantly remind myself of these truths! You, sweet friend, inspire gratitude, not grumbling, in me, because you never fail, in different ways, to remind me of His extravagant love. Love you! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks dear Shelly. 🙂 I “wish I didn’t have to constantly remind myself of these truths” too!!

      Shelly, you sooooooooo encouraged me with these precious words “you never fail, in different ways, to remind me of His extravagant love.” Thank YOU!

      Praying you’re recovering well & gaining strength each day since your surgery. You remain in my prayers dear Shelly. ☺ God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

