When I Feel Too Inadequate, Then What?

inadequateIf your illness makes you feel inadequate you are not alone, but Kerryn shares how to overcome them.

“Then the Lord reached out His hand and touched my mouth and said to me, ‘I have put My words in your mouth” (Jeremiah 1:9).

I’ve often wondered how it would have been for Jeremiah to be told by God to speak for Him. I sometimes think the Bible characters are so different to me, but they’re not so different really.

The Lord asks us all to do things that seem impossible and out of our reach, at some stage in our lives. His requests can seem more impossible once we become ill, yet God never asks of us more than what we can manage–with His help.

Jeremiah argued that he was too young. What do we use as our excuse?

I remember when a Rest Ministries devotional writer challenged me to become a devotional writer. I’d already had God prompting me to write. So when a person challenged me too, I had all the excuses imaginable ready to go!

I felt insecure and inadequate. I didn’t feel “enough” and I knew that, more often than not, I’m too weak and ill to write. It’s true that I’m never enough. I need God!

This is where He wants us, to be dependent upon Him. Now, this doesn’t mean doing something that is counteractive to our health and will put us in danger! It does mean relying fully on God.

More often than not, I’m at my most exhausted state when God says: “Okay, let’s write!” At first I’d think “Are You crazy?” Yet, every time He’s given me the words and energy to write, with minimal effort and usually with barely any editing needed. What a blessing that is, each and every time.

I’m truly grateful that God uses this weakened, ill body for His purposes, even when it seems impossible.

Psalm 37:24 “though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with His hand.”

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me to trust You when You call. Thank You that I’m not enough and I do need You, for You are my strength when I am weak. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What is God calling you to do for Him? What excuses do you have? Do you trust Him?

Kerryn thought you would enjoy this song “You Are My All In All” with Nicole Nordeman. She has had this song in her head as she worked on the devotional. I know the lyrics will bless you as well. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “When I Feel Too Inadequate, Then What?

    • Thanks Karlton. 🙂

      I needed to read it tonight, as I’m totally wiped after a long health appointment. God is good! Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • Thanks Shelly 🙂

      DELIGHTED that God’s help has made the words as “a balm.” Loved your insight about “His HAND.”

      Can’t believe you’re on here already after brain surgery! WOW! The Laughter group in the Sunroom have a “Get Well” post for you dear Shelly. All praying for your recovery. God bless. VERY gentle hugs. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

