How Do We Get Through a Trial? Plan For It

plan-on-itWhen God tells us trials will happen do we plan for it by becoming discouraged? Vicki clarifies.

“. . . We wait for the blessed hope–the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ” (Titus 2:13).

I’m a just-in-case kinda person. When our sons were toddlers I kept a toy car in my purse for wiggle prevention during unwanted waiting. When I taught second grade, I prepared twelve weeks of lesson plans at a time–in case my multiple sclerosis prevented me from teaching.

Each purse contains tissues because I’ve reached the level of master crier. Tears flow for just about any mood: sadness, compassion, extreme happiness, and humor. Every pocket book also has a hair clip in it. In case the room temperature is too hot.

Nowadays, I pack extra things for doctor appointments and medical tests. I’m a waiting room warrior. A proud marathon sitter. I can wait for an hour without releasing a perturbed grunt, glaring at the receptionist, or glancing at a clock. My strategy: read a good book.

I draw the line at planning for trials. Who does that? But the Bible guarantees they’ll come.

Jesus assured us that, “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Does that mean we should begin each day asking, “What pain will pester me today? What part of this day will be disrupted by my disability?” I doubt Christ meant for fear to fill our minds each morning. But we should expect to have difficulties.

Plan on trouble? Ugh! But anticipate trials in the context of His victory? Now that I can plan on! God helps me have a mental mindset to face anything. What’s a just-in-case kinda woman to do to prepare? Start the day in His presence.

Not everyone plans ahead. Some wait until they’re on their deathbed to prepare for eternity. Not me. I’m ready. I’ve received the ticket–paid for by Christ. Now all I gotta do is watch, wait, and witness.

Prayer: Dear Father, the hardest things for me to prepare for are disappointments. Help prepare my heart for whatever You have in store for me today. Increase my trust in You. Keep me from thinking I’m in control of everything simply because I make my plans. I know that’s Your job. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

How has God prepared your heart for disappointments?

I just heard this song recently and it caught my attention. When I saw Vicki’s devotional, I knew it was the perfect song! This is “While I’m Waiting” with John Waller. We learn to wait patiently, we learn to wait expectantly, but like Vicki shares we also have the opportunity to trust, serve, and run that race while we wait. For all of us who have a chronic illness and feel like we are stuck in God’s waiting room, I dedicate this to you! Love you, -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How Do We Get Through a Trial? Plan For It

  1. Hi Patricia,
    I’m new to Facebook. But I’ve posted links. Just copy the link (you probably know to right click on the link at the top of your screen in the URL box when you’ve opened the Rest Ministries devotionals page). Then paste the link on your Facebook page. Not sure if that’s the best way to do it. As I said, I’m new at Facebook. Hope it works. Blessings to you today.

  2. Vicki. So kind of you to try to help….I use an iPad ….it’s is touch rather than click….if I can figure out how to paste a post maybe I will be able to share.

Leave a Reply

