Are You Ready For Your Life to be a New Thing?

new-thingIt may be hard to consider we can become a new thing when our body feels so old, but Cynthia shares how it has nothing to do with our body.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” (Isaiah 43:19)

What if God wants to do a new thing in your life?

I’ve dealt with a wide range of health issues. It’s tempting to dwell on the negative instead of showing excitement for the future. Being twenty-four, I wish I could do the same activities as my peers.

My chronic pain fluctuates. It’s complicated. I’ll do something effortlessly. The next day the activity is difficult. It’s like a yo-yo.

I tend to think my pain will get worse and I’ll never improve. At the start of a new year, I want to make goals that involve discipline. Isaiah 43:19 gives me hope.

Health can make us feel like we are stranded in the woods and holding up an S.O.S. sign. Even so, God sees us in the wilderness. God creates streams in wastelands and joy where we thought there was sadness.

He can do a new thing through you. Think of your life like a chapter book. If you have trouble letting go of the past or moving forward, turn the page. Believe that 2014 will be a year of health and favor.

While we focus on where we’ve been, God is concerned about where we’re going. His mercies are new every morning. He sees the end while we wrestle through beginnings.

I find peace in knowing that God is the ultimate author of my life. If you’ve struggled with pain for several years, it might seem unrealistic to expect new things. I understand how that feels.

Expect wellness and favor anyways. The new thing may be a helpful friend that offers support. The new thing may be a doctor that shows compassion. Don’t put a limit on Gods new thing; you never know what that new thing might be and that includes a miracle.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for all that You have done in my life. I trust You in every season and ask for wellness and favor. My hope does not come from my circumstances, nor the doctor. My hope comes from You. Thank You for doing a new thing through me. Amen.

About the Author:
Cynthia Giles is twenty-four years old and a recent graduate from Kennesaw State University. Her chronic pain has lasted for over 6 years and it’s the result of a car wreck and other circumstances. Cynthia thinks it’s important to give a voice to young people who deal with chronic pain and health issues. She hopes that her writing becomes a light in a dark place for individuals in need of healing. Cynthia is also a spoken word artist, public speaker, and enjoys writing in various styles. You can connect with her and learn about her on Facebook at facebook.com/cynthia.spokenwordartist or her website: cynthianicolegiles.com

Has God ever done the unexpected in your life? What scriptures remind you that God is an author of new beginnings?

Tenth Avenue North sings “Healing Begins” in this video with slips from “The Grace Card” movie. As we consider where our new beginning may be, consider that you will look back at some point and consider that the new beginning started where the healing began–in your soul. I hope it bless you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

