When You Ask, ‘Jesus, Do You Hear Me?’

hear-meWhen you wonder is Jesus still hears you, Diane asks you to consider how He may respond.

“See the former things have taken place and the new things I declare; before they spring into being I announce them to you.” (Isaiah 4:29)

As I lay in there in the stillness of night, unable to sleep, waiting for the pain to subside, I prayed–going through my thoughts trying to think of those who I knew needed to receive His touch–I asked, “Lord, do You still hear me?”

In the stillness of the night came His soft words . . .

I called to you from the heavenly heights, as the wind in the trees. . .
Did you hear Me?

On a silent night my voice rang out as the cry of an infant, in humble surroundings. . .
Did you hear Me? (Matthew 1:23)

In the temple as a young boy soon to be a man, I spoke among the teachers of the law, where a glimpse of my Fathers wisdom would be heard. . .
Did you hear Me? (Luke 46:47)

Reaching the age of 30 My purpose here now coming to fruition. . .
Did you hear Me? (Matthew 4:17)

My voice resounded from the mountain, teaching of the new covenant of Love, hope and forgiveness. . .
Did you hear Me? (Matthew 5:1-2)

Upon the cross I was nailed, though my body was racked with pain, my voice cried out that my suffering would not be in vain. . .
Did you hear Me? (Mark 15:25-26)

Three days later I defeated death; when I went to my Father, I sent forth my Spirit I would dwell with you, knowing I love you. (Acts 1:8)
I ask you, my child, “Do you hear Me?”

Oh, Yes, Lord! I hear you!

Prayer: Father, thank You for your amazing love, for choosing to humble Yourself by coming here to this earth that we could know and believe that You love us beyond all measure. May we take the time is Christmas season to listen and truly hear Your voice. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Florida. She has three grown children, and a wonderful husband who offers much support. She enjoys leading a women’s bible study group as well as a chronic pain and illness support group. She enjoys art and writing as well. It is her hope to bring encouragement to others as she deals with chronic illness and pain; comforting others as God has comforted her.

God talks to us in so many different ways. What are some of the ways you hear God’s voice, traditional and nontraditional?

So many times we just need acknowledged. We want someone–especially God!–to give us an affirmation that we are valued to someone, that we matter, that we have God’s guidance along the path of life. This is a great song with Meredith Andrews, “Can Anybody Hear Me?” I hope you enjoy. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “When You Ask, ‘Jesus, Do You Hear Me?’

  1. Diane I have been involved in a Chronic Pain and Illness support group at my church. Do you use support materials? After much searching we found one workbook, Beyond Chronic Pain. What do you use. Thanks. Blessings and Peace. Terri

Leave a Reply

