Planning for a Spirit of Renewal

renewalWhen you consider what God can do, Sandi shares how renewal is her hope for the new year.

“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from Your presence or take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation and grant me a willing spirit to sustain me.” (Psalm 51:10-12)

Every year I take on a new word. It is an activity similar to a New Year’s resolution. I begin in the Fall searching for a word whose meaning seems to be missing in my life. A word to study, and then to implement into my life. This year I have chosen two because they are similar and often used interchangeably in the scripture.

renew and restore

This year has been a roller coaster! Busy with normal things of life made complicated by illness, new symptoms, much pain, and growing disabilities. I cannot do now, what I could easily do just a few months ago! In fact, when we moved to this parsonage four years ago, I could walk up and down the basement steps, and now I am in a wheelchair!

I have learned to maneuver through life in my chair. I have learned to stand and cook while leaning against the counter, having my chair a few steps behind me to sit in when I need to. We have a lovely deck off our back door, and our church men built a ramp so getting out is easier.

But this past summer and fall were hard. And my heart became cold and tired. I needed more of God. What better time than a brand New Year to seek a time of renewal and restoration?

Psalm 51:10 in the Amplified Bible has become a prayer of mine as I search for renewal from God.

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right, persevering, and steadfast spirit within me.”

Webster’s New World Dictionary defines renewal as:
1. to make new or fresh again
2. to reestablish or revive

Doesn’t that sound exciting? I want to be renewed, and have a heart that is revived! Perfect words for me to chose this year.

Prayer: O Heavenly Father, this is my prayer. I long to be renewed. I cry to be revived. Please create in me a clean and pure heart, and renew a right spirit within me. Amen.

About the Author:
Sandra Platt has been married to her best friend for 31 years. She is a Pastors wife and mother of two young adult children. She has been on the writing team for Rest Ministries since 2006, and has been blessed by all of the friendships and fellowships she has found there.

She has had Fibromyalgia for 25 years, and also has many health issues with Autoimmune illnesses including Autoimmune Peripheral Neuropathy. Her prayer as she writes is Psalm 19:14 “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Think and prayer on what word or phrase you would chose for this year. Write it down in a journal and ponder why you chose the word. Share with us in comments so that we can all pray for each other in this New Year.

Whatever you may be going through you can always know that God won’t give up on you! “Never Give Up On Me” with Josh Bates is a song that just feels cozy and comforting and the lyrics are something we can all relate to. I hope it blesses you today. -Lisa

One thought on “Planning for a Spirit of Renewal

Leave a Reply

