What is the Goliath in Your Life Today?

goliath2Regardless of what you are up against God has the power to defeat it in a moment when you call on Him. Linda shares.

“’The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of the Philistine.’ Saul said to David, ‘Go and the Lord be with you.’” (1 Samuel 17:37)

Living with a chronic illness there are times that it seems we are facing a new Goliath or obstacle in our life on a daily or even hourly basis.

Recently I realized that I was facing one of the biggest “Goliaths” that I had dealt with in years. Yes, there had been lots of ongoing issues and I knew God was helping me win each battle, but this was different lots of decisions with major consequences –and Satin new just where to attack.

I turned to the scripture’s and found this verse in 1 Samuel. It got me thinking back over the years at all of the times I had faced some pretty big giants. And how God had been with me, just as He was with David when he slayed the lion and the bear.

It reminded me that the God who had always been with me was the same God who would help me conquer this new giant in my life. I could go forth armed with the assurance that the God of yesterday is the same God of today and tomorrow.

I was armed with the confidence that He was still with me. So together we went, ready to face the unknown, but with a peace and assurance that we would overcome once again.

I don’t know what Goliath you are facing right now. But I pray that you will find assurance in the fact that the God who has helped you in the past is the same God who will help you though this day.

Prayer: Dear Lord, Thank You for the calm assurance that comes from You being the same God today that You were yesterday and will be tomorrow. Thank You that no obstacle that we face or “Goliath” that comes into our life is too big for You. Please help each of us rest in the knowledge that You are with us to help us and that we can trust in the plan that You have for us. Amen.

About the author:
Linda Aufrance, lives with multiple illness including MS, Lupus and diabetes. She lives with her loving care giving husband of almost 40 years. She is blessed to have a daughter, and a son and daughter-in-law who live within a few miles and all are wonderful caregivers and do so willingly to make her life easier. The biggest blessings are 3 beautiful grandchildren who no matter how bad the day can turn it around with their smiles and hugs.

Have you come up against some Goliath’s in your life and then have seen God work a miracle to help you slay them?

God can overcome anything because He is the creator of all of creation. Any situation, any circumstance, any heartache, all of it is nothing when it comes up against God’s power. And if it doesn’t change for the better you can be assured that God is at work in it. He’s not just you to figure it all out on your own. I hope you enjoy Jeremy Camp singing “Overcome.” -Lisa

One thought on “What is the Goliath in Your Life Today?

Leave a Reply

