What Will Lead You Into the New Year?

new-yearRather than allowing our illness to determine what kind of new year you will have, Kerryn encourages you to ask God where He desires your focus.

“After they had heard the king, they went on their way, and the star they had seen when it rose went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was” (Matthew 2:9).

The wise men followed the star “until it stopped over the place where the child was.”

Recently God has been leading me clearly, but I’ve been digging in my heels! What results when I do that is a mess–with me being tired, cranky and miserable.

Oh, it looked like I was doing all the right things. I’ve been obediently doing as He asks. I “stopped” in the lead up to Christmas to rest and reflect more about the first Christmas.

All good.

The trouble is I’ve been following like a little child with her hands over her ears while her Father explains important things to her. “La la la,” I’ve chimed over the top of His words to me!

Knowing what He’s been saying for weeks, I just haven’t wanted to accept it fully. So, I’ve tried to pretend that I’m following Him, but really everything within me has been wanting to go the other way

As if God doesn’t know.

It all started with searching for my “word” for 2014. In recent years, God has given me a word or focus for the year.

During this time, He’s given deeper revelations about the simplicity of that first Christmas. There were no frills, feasts, festivities and fancy clothes where Jesus was born. Next He took my focus to the star that “stopped over the place where the child was.” That star stopped for a long time.

Everything has become so complicated, complex, and chaotic that we miss what’s truly important. Stopping helps us to focus and listen.

So, I’ve decided to stop fighting, truly listen and gratefully accept the word that God is giving me for 2014.

“Simplify!”

My first step, in 2014, is to simplify things. . . by not fighting where my Father’s taking me.

Prayer: Lord, help me to follow You, simply because You know what’s best for me in 2014 and to the end of time. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

Is there something that you’re “digging in your heels” about that needs releasing? What word, message, Bible verse or thought will lead you into 2014?

Interested in learning more about The Magi and the Christmas Star or Star of Bethlehem? Kerryn recommends this web site.

As the new year begins we are told of many places to look for happiness. If we just become more organized or if we lose more weight. If we learn to be “mindful” or if we buy the person in line behind us a coffee, than we will find fulfillment. I encourage you to instead, truly ask God where He would like you to focus in 2014. Don’t search for it yourself. Rather look to Him! Selah sings “I Look to You” in this beautiful video. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “What Will Lead You Into the New Year?

  1. Oh, Kerryn, you’re speaking directly to me, girl!! I wrote a blog post a few months ago about how my footprints in the sand look more like drag marks. 😉 Thank you for the encouragement to refocus. Praying for you as you simplify. Something so NOT simple should be renamed, don’t you think? Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks dear Shelly. 🙂
      Nice to know I’m not the only one that has a stubborn streak in them!! 😉 Praying those “drag marks” cease for us both!!
      Happy New Year Shelly. Gentle hugs. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Great devotion Kerryn! Keeping things simple is such a good idea for those of us with illnesses. Hoping you have a great 2014!
    Blessings.

    • Thanks Karlton. 🙂
      Yes, always helpful to simplify. Will see where God leads with this. He’s given some hints already.
      Happy New Year Karlton. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

