How is Your Life Like a Christmas Tree?

christmas-treeHow does our life resemble a Christmas tree with its decorations and twinkling lights? Shelly explains.

“But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.” (Ephesians 4:7)

I was listening to the Christmas carol, “O Christmas Tree,” the other day and the last lines struck me.

Thou bidst us true and faithful be,
And trust in God unchangingly.
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
How richly God has decked thee!

Christmas trees are one of my favorite part of the season. I love them when they’re outside, flocked with a fresh coat of newly-fallen snow. I love them when they’re inside, giving off a fragrance that smells so fresh and perfect. I love them when they’re covered with tinsel and lights and shimmering in a dark room.

I love them up close to see each individual spine. I love them far away with my glasses off, so that everything blurs into a beautiful glowing blob.

I love when I catch glimpses of them through open windows when I’m driving by the homes of strangers. And I love sitting in my own familiar room with my family and friends, singing and laughing around the Christmas tree.

The evergreen tree is chosen because it truly does showcase God’s steadfastness in our lives. Do I, like that tree, grow hearty and green even in the harshest of winters? Do I require shiny glass balls and sparkling tinsel to feel ready for my entrance?

Or do I trust that even on those days when I feel more like Charlie Brown’s sad little twig tree than the tree in Rockefeller Center, that I can still showcase our God’s trustworthiness?

Just as we enjoy each stage and location and fragrance and sight of a Christmas tree, God uses each of us to bring joy into the world in our own unique way.

And this year the Christmas tree will remind me to be true and faithful and to trust God unchangingly.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for making each tree beautiful in its own way. Thank You for this season and this song that remind me that You view me in that same way. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

In this video Aretha Franklin sings “O Christmas Tree” and Shelly thought you would enjoy this version. As you listen, consider a new perspective on how you see a Christmas tree. Enjoy! -Lisa

What symbols of this season does God use to remind you that you are unique and wonderful, just the way you are?

2 thoughts on “How is Your Life Like a Christmas Tree?

  1. A beautiful devotional about the Christmas tree. Thanks Shelly. 🙂

    I LOVE fresh Christmas trees, but can’t manage them any more. The fake one is still lovely, decorated with red & silver this year.

    I couldn’t remember those lines from “O Christmas Tree” at all….. very meaningful. Merry Christmas dear friend. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. I found that those lines aren’t in very many versions anymore…. hence the Aretha Franklin pic 😉 I have to have a fake tree too, but it matters not to me, looking at it still gives me a thrill.

    Merry Christmas, Kerryn!! ❤ Heart Hugs, Shelly

Leave a Reply

