Embracing the Difference You’re Meant to Make

differenceHow can we make a difference in the lives of those around us when we are running on limited strength? Susan shares.

“Arise, shine for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord rises upon you.” (Isaiah 60:1)

As we ate dinner last night, my husband commented, “I just want you to know that even though our tree is up I haven’t turned Christmas on in my heart yet. I’m waiting till after Thanksgiving.”

An apology tumbled out as soon as I reminded him why our Christmas decorations are out two weeks earlier than normal. My son is getting married in mid-December and my body can only handle so much stress at one time.

I’d like to be normal, to be able to bake cookies, trim the tree, and walk the mall without thought. But my body lags way behind my desire.

So when my mom called last week and had an opening on her calendar to help me with the tree, I jumped at the chance to cross one thing off my holiday list. A little early.

I used to mourn what I can’t provide during the holidays. But over time learned to value my different pace, my store-bought cookies and gift cards, and my quiet days in front of our sparkling tree.

This may sound self-serving, but I had to realize that just being me counted.

I’m still here. I’m still mom. I can still pour out love and remind my family that God’s faithfulness is enough. I have to resist the hustle and bustle and succumb to paper plates when family gathers. I limit errand runs and once bought stocking stuffers at Kroger when it all got too much.

But I will sing carols on Christmas Eve. I will bask in the wonder of Emmanuel God with us. And I will walk into the New Year reminded that “the glory of the Lord has risen upon us.”

And with that, will keep trying to make a difference in this world.

Prayer: Dear Jesus, Help us remember that are worth isn’t based in what we accomplish this holiday season but rather in the fact that we are Your children, bearers of the light. Help us make the difference You’ve given us to make as we celebrate Your humble birth. Amen.

About the author:
Susan Schreer Davis lives in Georgia with her husband, Don. She’s battled mitochondrial disease for over ten years and enjoys reaching out to others through her blog at: http://www.coffeefaithandchronicdisease.blogspot.com/.

What is one thing that you can purposely leave behind this holiday season? Is there a way you can simplify the stress, the shopping, the cooking so you can celebrate a little bit more?

What sets us apart from people who don’t know Jesus is the hope that we have and can cling to. Our circumstances may not change, but our hope in Jesus and spending eternity with Him and the Father can get us through anything. This song is a blessing to remind us that “Hope Is Born This Night” with one of my favorite groups, Sidewalk Prophets. -Lisa

3 thoughts on “Embracing the Difference You’re Meant to Make

  1. Love this, Susan! I will be embracing what I can do am what I still am this season, too. Thanks for the encouragement! Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

Leave a Reply

