How Quickly Can I Rest In God When Scared?

scaredWhen the swift breezes blow through your life do you really rest in God. Kerryn shares her recent encounter that made her consider this in a new light.

“To whom he said, ‘This is the resting place, let the weary rest’; and, ‘This is the place of repose’–but they would not listen.” (Isaiah 28:12).

Today I collapsed into my outdoor recliner, determined to catch some afternoon sun. Simply getting out of bed and having my bi-weekly shower had completely taken all of my minimal energy.

Carefully I’d left our front door slightly ajar to allow our cat out for a brief wander.

Sipping my cup of tea I noticed a ball of fur ambling past me. I spoke to it and looked up from my cuppa.

Two sets of widened, shocked eyes met with a brief stare! Inches from my feet was a young koala, not my cat! We were equally stunned, as we looked at each other.

The koala scrambled quickly to the left to our gum trees. Meanwhile, I scrambled quickly to the right to grab my camera that was just inside the door. I hadn’t moved that fast in a long while!

By the time I came outside the frightened koala was clambering up the closest gum tree. He climbed higher and higher out of danger. Yet when he was at a high fork in the tree it was swaying wildly in the strong breezes.

koalaDanger and difficulties seemed to be everywhere for this young koala. Yet, after munching on a few eucalyptus leaves, he found a “place of repose.” He not only rested, but fell asleep laid back in the fork of the tree. It didn’t seem to faze him at all that it was swaying about in the winds.

Yet again God spoke to me through nature.

Am I willing to lay back in the palm of God’s hand and trust His strength?

Am I willing to rest in Him when I’m scared, or weary, or tossed around by my circumstances? How quickly can I do so?

“This is the place of repose.” Will I listen?

Prayer: Lord, help me to quickly find my “place of repose” in You when things are tough or scary. Help me to listen to You, as You know what is best for me. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for two of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

When have you truly leant back into God and fully trusted Him, despite being tossed around by your circumstances? How would resting in Him help you now? What helps you to rest in God?

When was the last time you just rested in Him? Adored Him? Just sat and considered how amazing it is that God sent us His son, not in glory and blazes, but in swaddling clothes and a humble, average family? Put aside your list for the season, all the fears you may have of not doing enough or of disappointing other people, Just for a moment and abide in Him, adore Him. This is one of my favorite artists, Kari Jobe, singing “Adore Him.” I hope it blesses you and reminds you of His gift. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How Quickly Can I Rest In God When Scared?

  1. Thank you for your devotions! I just found it today. I share devotions with a crippled friend who is battling discouragement. This site is a great help. Thank you again.

  2. Thanks K Noe. 🙂
    How thoughtful of you to meet with your friend to encourage them with devotions. I pray that your dear friend will be uplifted with encouragement & sense the Lord’s nail-scarred hands that know suffering gently wrapped around them. Praying for peace, comfort & closeness with the Lord as you minister His love. Your friend is blessed indeed to have you!!

    Maybe your friend would enjoy the Rest Ministries Sunroom. It’s a place where many with chronic illnesses meet online to pray for each other & give encouragement. The link is: http://www.restministriessunroom.com
    God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

