New Pain, Same Tools

toolsWhen a new pain hits do you wander around looking for new tools or do you all turn to Jesus? Sonya explains.

“Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” (Luke 12:7)
“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.” (Luke 12:32)

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in 2004. I have become well acquainted the pain it causes and, in most cases, view it mostly with irritation rather that alarm. However, recently I began to experience a new, frightening pain that I had never had before–a sharp pain that took my breath and caused my mind to fear the implications. Was this my condition taking a turn for the worst?

As the pain continued over the next several days, I began to manage this pain with the same tools I use to manage all the others, and to see that my extreme fear was misplaced. This was not the end of life as I know it, not the beginning of decent into disability, just another circumstance to be managed with the tools I already have in hand.

The attacks of Satan are just the same. He comes at us with some new trial, some new affliction, some new lie, and we begin to give way to fear. We begin to wonder, will I be overcome?

No! You will not be overcome, but you will overcome by the blood of the Lamb and the Word of your testimony, just as you have overcome all that has gone before. Satan has no new tricks up his sleeve. He simply uses the same old “pains” in a new way to shake us up.

We need to turn from fear and work toward victory using the tools we already have in hand with the Word of God and the faith to know that He is still in control, as He is in my pain, and He is still greater than anything Satan can throw at us.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I know that You died to provide my healing and if I never see it here in the land of the living, then I will surely see it in Heaven someday. Thank You for hearing my cries and rescuing me from all my fears. It is in Your Holy Name I trust. Amen.

About the author:
Sonya Richards lives outside Richmond, VA with her husband of nearly twenty years. She has two grown daughters. Sonya was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in 2004. She works full time as a bookkeeper but writing for the Lord is her true passion.

What “tools” do you have in your illness toolbox that can translate into the spiritual battlefield? What has God grown in you as you have persevered through a chronic illness and how has it made you stronger?

“A Baby Changes Everything” with Faith Hill shares a touching visual journey of Mary and how her life changed in ways she never imagined, all starting with the visit from an angel. This is from the movie, “The Nativity” and is a beautifully filmed. Is this baby changing everything in your life too? Even though the pains we have will change, this baby never will. He is forever our Rescuer and Savior. -Lisa

One thought on “New Pain, Same Tools

Leave a Reply

