How To Pray For Others When Exhausted

pray2We often want to pray for others but can feel overwhelmed with the burdens they face and how to out it all into words. Kerryn shares an incredible word-picture.

“Brothers and sisters, pray for us” (1 Thessalonians 5:25).

I’m often asked to pray for others. However, regularly my brain and body are so messed up from illnesses that it seems impossible.

A dear pastor, who is now with the Lord, taught me much about prayer.

This special man was the one who counseled and prayed with my husband, when he gave his life to the Lord at an Easter Camp at 16. He also gave us pre-marriage counseling and married us. However, his greatest gifts to us were that he prayed for us, every other day, and shared his rich prayer life with us.

He prayed for hundreds of people and wasn’t burdened by it.

To pray, he said that he pictured each person in a wheel chair! In his mind, he then wheeled them into the Son for the Lord to minister to them, in any way that was needed. His job was to wheel them into the Son, then let go of the wheel chair and get the next person, in his mind. It’s then the Lord’s job to take care of all of their needs, not ours.

The Lord gave him this image, when he was quite young, after seeing an elderly person being wheeled into the sunshine at a nursing home. I’ve never forgotten this image that he preached in a powerfully simple sermon.

It’s very freeing to release that wheel chair, knowing that the Lord is then ministering to each special person. It’s also freeing to know that when I don’t know what to pray it’s not important, because the Lord does.

I give thanks to God for this special man that ministered to us so much during his life and knew what it is to trust the Lord with each person’s needs.

Prayer: Thank You Lord that I can wheel each person into Your presence for You to meet their needs. Thank You that this is not a burden that You want for me, especially when I’m exhausted. Help me to let the “wheel chair” go! Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for two of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways. Rev. Arthur Jackson’s messages live on! Praise God!

What helps you when you’re praying for others? Do you have images, routines, or verses that help you when praying? How does this image help you in your prayers?

“I’m Gonna Love You Through It” is a touching song (and video) with Martina McBride. We may not always know what to say or how to pray, but we can love people through it. This song shares how even when there is no one praying for us, we can always be assured that God is there to love us through it. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How To Pray For Others When Exhausted

  1. Oh, Kerryn, now that I’ve heard the “whole” story, it is even more beautiful!! What a lovely picture God gave that man! And I’m so happy he shared it with you, so that you could share it with us! ❤ When I think of others throughout my day, I always feel that just the thought of them on my heart is considered a prayer for them by the Spirit. Then I rest assured that the Spirit takes over from there and makes their needs known. Think I'll adopt the Wheel Into the Son image. Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

    • Thanks Shelly! 🙂

      Yes, it was something special that I’ve never forgotten. Often when really exhausted I’ll say “Lord I’m wheeling all of my friends & family into the Son now for you to attend to.” He understands our exhaustion through illnesses.

      Amen to your words: “When I think of others throughout my day, I always feel that just the thought of them on my heart is considered a prayer for them by the Spirit. Then I rest assured that the Spirit takes over from there and makes their needs known.” I agree. Gentle hugs. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. Excellent devotion Kerryn! I often picture in my mind handing problems over to Jesus, but I love that symbolism of wheeling people in need into His presence 🙂
    Blessings.

    • Thanks Karlton! 🙂
      For me it’s picturing myself letting go of the handles of the wheelchair that’s very releasing. Sometimes I can almost picture the Lord tapping at my hands to let go & let Him take care of someone special!! God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

