Do You Only See the Oopsies in Your Life?

oopsiesWhen you look at your life do you see an abundance oopsies–or mercy? Kerryn shares.

“For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.” (2 Peter 1:5-9).

My dear husband has been packing up his deceased mother’s house. I’ve been unpacking precious china that’s been wrapped in stunning, hand-stitched linens to transport them safely. Carefully I examined the exquisite embroidery on linen table cloths and napkins.

These beautiful cloths had been stitched, with loving care, over so very many hours. Each stitch had been precisely placed with careful color choices and patterns. Savoring each precious stitch I was wondering which relative had embroidered it? What had they been thinking?

There were generations of Christians in my husband’s family. In fact, one of his relatives had come to Australia early in its settlement to set up churches here. So what had these women prayed, as they passed the needle carefully in and out of the linen?

As I perused the gorgeous cloths my eyes kept wandering from the most beautiful stitching to some small stains. Here was evidence of them being used and having had spillages and “oopsies” that ruin the perfection of the clean cloth.

It was here that God spoke into my heart.

We all sin and ruin the perfection that God lovingly created us to be. Jesus died and rose again to pay for all of our sins and cleanse us. How often have I forgotten that I’ve been cleansed from my sins? Where is my focus?

Is it upon the creation that God has lovingly created me to be, or am I focused on the stains of past sins and oopsies? How much more productive I am, if I focus on the precious and beautiful qualities He’s creatively and colorfully placed within me!

God knows what He’s done in creating me. I am God’s beautifully embroidered creation and He doesn’t see the stains since the cross!

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank You for cleansing me from all of my sins on the cross. Thank You that You created me, oh so very carefully, and that You delight in me. Help me to focus on Your view of me. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for two of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

How do you view yourself, with stains–or without? What difference would it make to see yourself the way that God sees you?

Do you know that we cannot possibly realize how much we are loved by God because it’s indescribable in our languages. God was and is and is to come and this song, “Above All Things” with Michael W. Smith is a beautiful reminder. Take a few minutes and just breath and listen and then thank God for His awesome gift. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Do You Only See the Oopsies in Your Life?

  1. Thanks dear Shelly. 🙂
    It was quite a weird moment of kinda picturing these women embroidering the cloths, while praying & thinking of their families & friends. It made me wonder what others will think will they have my craft work in the future! Also thinking of those “oopsies” as someone spilled something on the cloth & their embarrassment!! God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

