Attending and Missing Church When You are Ill

churchDo you attend church–or do you miss attending? Dorothea shares her thoughts on church.

“I rejoiced with those who said to me, ‘Let us go to the house of the Lord.’” (Psalm 122:1)

There’s something soothing about being in church. I admit that I miss attending church regularly–sometimes to the point of aching. Watching the live streaming of our church’s service or other pastors on TV isn’t the same. Because of my chronic health issues, attending weekly church service is virtually impossible.

I grew up in a church that my father’s family helped start. The atmosphere has always been relaxed– children running up the stairs to the sanctuary after Sunday School; adults laughing and talking, catching up on each others week; everybody finding their seats once the deacons announce that the devotion period is about to begin.

My home church has not changed much since I was a child. Everything is steeped in tradition. Whenever I’ve gone back to visit, it is easy to fall right back into the familiar rhythms. It is a huge contrast to the mega-church that my family joined here.

The first thing I noticed was the silence when we came into the huge sanctuary. At first, it felt strange. However, after a while, I welcomed the hushed atmosphere as peace enveloped me. Waiting in the quiet helped me let go of the week’s pressures. I was able to focus on the upcoming service, looking forward to the Lord speaking to my heart.

I have always left church feeling better–reminded that God is in control, and I am not in this struggle alone. Being in church is like coming home. Coming to a place of love, safety, encouragement, hope, and mercy. If you’re able to attend church regularly, know that you are truly blessed. Take advantage of the weekly fellowship with like-minded believers because there may come a time when you cannot enjoy this gift.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the body of Christ. Never let us forget the blessings that come from coming together to glorify Your name. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in California with her family. She has lived with various chronic illnesses and pain for over 20 years. She relies on God’s grace to strengthen and encourage her each day. She loves to hear from her readers. Please visit her in the Sunroom or read some of her other works at http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

Do you miss church because of your illness? How do you find refreshment in other ways?

I thought you may like to take a few minutes and hear an amazing version of “The Lord’s Prayer” with Andrea Bocelli. I hope it blesses you today. (The music begins at about.45 seconds) -Lisa

One thought on “Attending and Missing Church When You are Ill

Leave a Reply

