A Flicker of Hope for Healing

hopeCan you still find hope after years of illness and pain. Ramona shares how we should always cling to hope.

“But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise You more and more.” (Psalm 71:14)

Looking back over my years of living with a chronic illness affords a unique perspective. And it’s a perspective that inspires hope.

When I was at my twenty-year mark my world was dark. It had been a long hard road. My symptoms seemed untreatable. Not only that, but many people in my life did not believe that my symptoms were real.

On one particular evening my husband drove me to our church prayer service. Kneeling at the alter I reached towards the heavens and begged my Father for a cure. It was the same prayer that I had been praying for years.

Shortly after that my son called to tell me about a new surgical procedure that had become available. He thought that the surgery might help my symptoms. A feeling of hope flickered within me.

Six months later I was on the operating room table having the procedure done. Immediately after surgery my symptoms dramatically improved. I wasn’t healed one hundred percent, but I was given a large part of my life back.

When I look back, I see that I had to wait for the medical research to advance to a point that would benefit me. Now as I deal daily with my remaining symptoms I have hope. My complete healing may be just around the corner.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I praise You for all of the healings that You have in store for me. Because of You I have hope. Amen.

About the Author:
Ramona Bracker and her husband live on a farm in Iowa. They have three grown sons and one lovely daughter-in-law. She worked as a pediatric nurse for 25 years until she was forced to leave the profession due to chronic illness. She credits her faith and family for helping her to achieve a victorious life.

Describe a time that you received some type of healing due to advancements in medical research.

This song, “Healing is Here” by Deluge. It is a song with simple lyrics, but a strong message. The story behind the song is below and gives it even more meaning. One of the singers of the group shares how his wife was going through cancer when this song was birthed.

There are times when our physical healing is not given and we may wonder why, because we think we had just as much faith as the person beside us who was healed. Put all your trust and hope and faith in God Himself–not in what He can or will do. Praise Him. Come to Him. He may heal you in ways you haven’t even discovered yet. -Lisa

One thought on “A Flicker of Hope for Healing

  1. Beautiful devotional, Ramona! I am so happy that your surgery was able to give you part of your life back! Praising God for that with you! Heart Hugs, Shelly

Leave a Reply

