Thanksgiving that Jesus Has Overcome The World

overcomeDo your circumstances leave you wondering where to find thankfulness today? Lisa reminds us that it comes in the fact that Jesus has already overcome them.

“Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with Me. . . I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 1632b,33)

I woke up Saturday and took a step. Ouch. By my third step I knew my knee was seriously messed up with a large bone fragment stuck somewhere in the joint. The last time this occurred in September I didn’t leave my home for 12 days. Once again, God was affirming my “word” for 2013–wait.

Plans were put aside, I limped to the shower where I could cry inconspicuously. All my holiday preparation plans for the weekend were surrendered. Thankfully the doctor did a procedure Monday so that I may be able to walk without dragging my leg behind me by Thanksgiving–today–except as I write this I have been sniffling and sneezing for the last 24 hours and gulping Vitamin C and zinc. Am I getting sick? I wonder now. Will I ruin our family plans?

Illness isn’t fun or easy. My son lamented about going to the doctor with me on his first day of school vacation. So I shared with him how this wasn’t my idea of a good time either, but we should consider all we had to be thankful for. . .

A cancellation at the doctor so I could get in, a doctor I knew would help, a car we could drive, that it was my left leg so I could drive. Health insurance, a sunny day, time together, my GPS since the doctor was in a new location. The list was long.

Thanksgiving isn’t about celebrating the difficult circumstances in our life. It is about saying “Thank You, Lord, for being beside me during the trials–and for already overcoming them!”

Our circumstances have no influence whatsoever on God’s plans for our life. God has already overcome our circumstances.

Prayer: God, as I celebrate a special day of Thanksgiving help me focus on everything around me but my circumstances–unless I want to praise You for overcoming them! My circumstances are of the world and You have overcome the world! There are so many ways You overcome my circumstances every day, giving me so many opportunities to praise You! Amen.

About the author:
Lisa Copen is the founder of Rest Ministries and she is trying to learn to wait when God says, “Wait.” She knows it will be a life-long lesson, but she hopes that she can learn it sooner rather than later, so that she can find more joy in daily life. She has lived with rheumatoid arthritis 20 years and resides in San Diego with her 10-year-old son and her husband.

How has God overcome your world–your circumstances–today?

As the focus quickly shifts from Thanksgiving to the holiday (shopping!) season, let us remember what is really important and that Jesus has overcome the world. This flashmob is of a gospel choir singing in a mall. How Jesus must smile as He hears the voices lifted to Him. . . and then weep as everyone returns to their lives. As you go through the Christmas season of advent, remember He has overcome the world!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving that Jesus Has Overcome The World

  1. Ain’t that the truth!!!

    Thanks for this wonderful perspective on thankfulness during tough times.
    Amen to: “It is about saying “Thank You, Lord, for being beside me during the trials–and for already overcoming them!”

    Thanks Lisa. Praying for you as you celebrate Thanksgiving with family & friends. I do hope that you’ve recovered a little since you wrote this.

    You have blessed me GREATLY Lisa. I’d need to write a novel to tell you of all of the ways that RM has made a difference to my life. THANK YOU!! Gentle hugs & God bless. 🙂 Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. May God return to you the blessings with which you have gifted others. If He gives you only a portion of our Thanks, you will be richly blessed indeed.

    Thank you for this beautiful post about the true focus of our Thanksgiving…. and every day!

    One of my favorite verses, I quote that to myself a lot.

    Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

Leave a Reply

