Does Your Life Feel Like a Battle?

BATTLELife with illness can feel like a battle, but Susan explains how we are always given rest in the end–eventually.

“Therefore I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship.” (Romans 12:1)

I reconnected with a sweet grandmother of four-year-old twin boys this week. One grandson has fought leukemia since birth, while the other shows signs of mitochondrial disease–the same illness that slows me down. I hung up the phone reminded that it’s a battle down here.

I’ve been reading the through the book of Kings for a Bible study I attend and have laughed out loud at several phrases. Keep in mind I tend to laugh at irony–which means I often laugh at the wrong time.

Just ask my family.

But here’s my recent favorite quote, “There was war between Abijah and Jeroboam. And Abijah rested with his fathers and was buried in the City of David.” (1 Kings 15: 7-8) In other words, there was war. . . and then he died.

We live in a culture captivated by the desire for ease and comfort. I’m as guilty as the next. I like cute clothes, my screened in porch, good food, highlighted hair, a trip to the beach, etc. The list goes on.

But the book of Kings reminds me we’re really in a battle down here–a constant battle. Yes, there are seasons of rest. I’m not trying to sound overly dramatic. But many lives can be summarized by saying, “They lived through hard things and then they rested.”

It’s that simple. True rest dawns in eternity with Jesus. Not here.

This speaks life to me because I remain in physical battle mode. With my third operation in ten months only weeks away, I’ve rarely had time to recover from one surgical skirmish before the next begins. But after reading through Old Testament drama, I’ve begun to picture the operating table as an altar–the place I lay my life down again for His plan, not mine.

As I surrender my very breath to anesthesiologists I don’t even know, I imagine the God of Heaven holding me close; savoring my trust; my life a sweet aroma surrendered to Him.

Yes, I’m going to battle again.

And that’s okay with God.

And so it shall be with me.

Dear Lord, Give us strength when we are weak and surrender when we don’t want to let go. Keep us close to you as the battle for our hearts rages. Amen.

About the author:
Susan Schreer Davis lives in Georgia with her husband, Don. She’s battled mitochondrial disease for over ten years and enjoys reaching out to others through her blog at: http://www.coffeefaithandchronicdisease.blogspot.com.

Is the battle real to you today? Is there something you need to lay down on an altar before God?

This is Yolanda Adams singing, “The Battle is Not Yours.” The lyrics are beautiful. If you are going through a battle right now, this song is a great reminder that it is not up to you to fight it–It is up to You to turn to Him and give it over. -Lisa

3 thoughts on “Does Your Life Feel Like a Battle?

  1. This post is, well, extraordinary! The timing, the message, the hope. I too laugh at irony and repeating out loud “It’s war down here . . and then we die” had me laughing so hard I cried (yes, the crying was real). Thank you so much for your transparency. God is so tender in reminding me that as much as I struggle (M.S., Lyme disease, blah, blah . . . ) I still get to do it in the comfort of my own solid roofed home, with clean water, and heat in the winter, AC in the summer. No guilt, just gratitude wrapped in a core of pain. Again, thank you, this pushed me right into His arms today. God bless and I will be praying for rest and strength and intimate time with Him as this next surgery rolls around.

  2. Thanks both of you for your kind words. I missed your comment yesterday, Shelly! Sorry about that. And Faye, I’m glad someone else laughed out loud at that comment as well. I love your line, “Gratitude wrapped in a core of pain.” There’s a lot of us that can attest to those words. I’ll fill you both in on the fact I wrote those words a month ago and am now recovering from the surgery. Still on a scooter and trying to keep from putting weight on the ankle. But counting the days. Happy Wednesday!!

Leave a Reply

